Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I brought this to my Thanksgiving luncheon at work, and it was a big hit! My coworkers scarfed it up and there's not a single bit of leftovers remaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is my Green Bean Casserole recipe minus the fresh veggies and add 2 additional cans of green beans. Sometimes I use Frenchs Fried onions on top instead of Ritz Crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T and it was entirely too 'soupy' for me. It really lacked something. It was too runny. Maybe if you added more corn or green beans or even rice or potatoes this would have been bettter. Will not be making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've made this recipe for years. Originally got it from a Mississippi cookbook developed by Southern Bell employees. The cookbook was called Bell's Best. This is a must for all of our Thanksgiving and Christmas gatherings. I double the amount of green beans, then double the entire recipe because everyone loves it so much! I also add slivered almonds on top, which makes it very pretty and adds a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Thank you so much. This was a favorite casserole when my mother had Thanksgiving, Alas, the recipe got lost but you have found it. You have really made my day. My children and grandchildren can now have my Mom's recipe. Mary from St. Louis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very nice, tasty, filling dish. Only mod was to saute the onion, celery, green pepper a bit prior to mixing with the rest. Used 1/2 of the sour crean called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this at home, and although it was a good base for other experiments, by itself, it was very bland. But this recipe is useful when you want to start with a foundation and then go off doing your own thing. I made it exactly as it said, but to make it better, I topped the entire surface with cheese. Made it a bunch bettter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Loved it! I would pre-cook the onion, peppers, & celery next time, tho, as they were still crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was yummy! I put in some shredded chicken right before I baked it. Perfect one dish meal! Just had some bread on the side... the only thing I might change next time is to use cream of mushroom instead of cream of celery. I'm just not a big fan of celery. :) There was plenty for our family of four and we even had leftovers... and they were better the next day! Will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My taste buds were so happy with this! I sauteed the onion and celery prior to baking since we don't like crunchy onions. Then added some cracked black pepper. Went well with steak and salad. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States