Shoe Peg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This salad was excellent and loved by all at our church picnic. I would definitely try this recipe again. It was a hit and very economical. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is the number one favorite salad our family loves.It is sweet and so scrumptiously crunchy.It is a marinated dream come true.The corn and celery and every ingredient in this salad complement each other perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was the bomb for me!!! Let me tell you I was interested in making it because of having hamburgers. I made this the night before, thought pretty simple and it was...however what caught me off and I prayed I didn't waste ingredients was the 1st 6 ingredients listed....it smell funky. BUT and I worried about it all night...BUT BUT BUT!!!! After following all instructins and marinading over night I was totally shocked and totally happy with the out come. I did add 2 tsp celery seed in the 1st step because I totally love celery seed due to my preference. Somehow the flavors just melded together and the smell was not there like the night before. This is wonderful. Onions and Bell Peppers were tender crisp, still had the crunch to it and all the ingredients just worked very well with each other. My kids sampled, and are totally excited about having this with dinner......Thanks Stephanie everyone gave this a HIGH 5!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We LOVE this salad. The veggie mixture is awesome. Who would have thought? I follow the recipe exactly. It does not need any tweaking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I made this salad for an office party & it was a hit. I had many requests for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
5 Stars for the ease of a refreshing and (relatively) healthy side! I doubled the celery seeds and added finely chopped Italian Flat Leaf parsley (only because I am growing it and needed to harvest some). Also, I only had one can of corn of corn so for the second can of corn I used the equivalent of frozen corn- and I also replaced the can of baby peas with the equivalent of frozen baby peas. The texture, taste, ease, and economic value of this salad was just what I wanted. Nice not to have a cream based salad during hot summer picnics too. We ate some right off the bat, and although better with time to meld-- this could be served right away. Only thing I might do differently next time is double the pimentos or add half of a red bell pepper (chopped), because the red color is really nice in the salad. Thanks, Stephanie, for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Delicious. I made exactly as written except put the whole jar of pimentos in. I drained them first. Used fairly large green pepper and onion. Nice crunch and a good way to get those veggies! Somone mentioned a funky smell when you mix the first 5 ingredients - I was checking the date on the olive oil - but do as she said and ignore it. It goes away. Next time I'll try with tiny frozen peas and Splenda - but so good without tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This turned out tasty, I used some fresh asperagas in place of the peas since I had some that needed to be used up, also used splenda in place of the sugar. A lot like 3-bean salad. Would go good for any type of picnic or bbq!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I took this to our church picnic this weekend and it definitely was NOT a hit. I ended up heading home with about as much as I took to the picnic. I made the recipe exactly and I thought it was pretty good myself. I don't know why it didn't go over well. But there were a couple of broccoli salads and another corn type salad others had made. Needless to say I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States