Shmunky's Colby Jack Cheddar Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made only two small changes and that was using buttermilk instead of 2% milk and I added a teaspoon of garlic powder. Instead of making drop biscuits, I shaped the dough into a round circle and cut the dough into triangles, like scones. Awesome biscuits--very tasty! GREAT with barbeque chicken and pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Substituted more white cheddar for the colby and they were amazing! Loved these biscuits and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Spencer-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hout Bay, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely amazing. We whiped these up in no time. They only took 15 min to cook for us, and we used all chedder cheese. Great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyEowyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deadwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
SO good! Used only old cheddar and switched out the parsley for oregano and basil and oh ... my ... word! Awesome!! And so much easier than rolling them out and cutting it into shapes. I'll be making this again 'cos the family loved them. Perfect with meatloaf. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reborn_2004
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Such an easy recipe, and they came out great. I didn't have any white cheese, so I just used shredded Sharp cheese. I ended up baking 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reborn_2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were amazing. I did not use herbs and olive oil and substituted honey for the white sugar. When mixing I added half the milk to the dry mixture to minimize clumping when adding the butter. Baked for 15 minutes and they were SO good. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
These are excellent and easy. I don't like thyme, so I added a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. My whole family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARMIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
exactly as described: crispy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside. delicious. i think mine took close to 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is the best biscuit recipe I've ever tried -- and believe me, I've tried a bunch! I use half cake flour and half bread flour, which make the biscuits lighter and fluffier. I've also played around with various cheeses and herbs with great success. It's an easy and versatile recipe, and quite a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were awesome! I followed the recipe as directed and they tasted much like those at a certain popular seafood restaurant! They are good as they are and also very good with a little garlic butter brushed on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States