Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I love it but it has strong flavor & is prob not a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Excellent recipe !! My wife and I loved it !! Used a mixture of chicken thighs and breast. The yogurt sauce was great but next time I may just cut back to two teaspoons garlic !! Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I just made this tonight, for about my fourth or fifth time. I absolutely love it! I always bake it, because I live in a condo, & have an electric grill that is temperamental. I always mix up the marinade in a gallon zipper bag & add the chicken, and usually give it 24 hours. The only adjustment I made to the marinade is to double the curry powder, because I love curry. This is the first time I made the yogurt dipping sauce. All I did differently: after tasting it as the recipe called for, I added a slight amount more salt (not quite double), and about 2 T of fresh lemon juice. I made mine into a pita, with a bit of romaine for texture. It was so wonderful! Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Loved it. Make the sauce the night before too, so the flavors can meld. Served with cous cous and broc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Amazing recipe! Tastes as good or better than Shish Tawook on the menu at a local Middle East restaurant. I grilled the chicken on skewers and served it with Basmati rice and grilled zucchini and yellow squash. The chicken was very flavorful and tender. This is company fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is FANTASTIC! I made this for my church's weekly cafe, for 60 people, and it was a huge hit! We served the dipping sauce in little cups, and we served the shish tawook with jasmine rice and roasted vegetables with rosemary, what a wonderful meal! Many of the chef-types asked for the recipe. For quantity cooking, I discovered that you can buy skinless boneless chicken breast meat at restaurant outlets, and you can usually get 20 pounds of scraps of this meat VERY cheaply. THen you thaw them in the fridge several days, then just mix those messy scraps with the marinade. Spread the whole marinaded STUFF on big baking sheets to bake, using a scissors to cut up the bigger pieces. This eliminates a lot of the work of cutting up the chicken into chunks. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My boyfriend and I had never had Middle Eastern food before so I was sketchy about making this, but I must say I LOVED this recipe. As a few others suggested I added a bit of lemon juice to the marinade. The spices are heavenly! I didn't use the curry and left all of the other measurements intact. I would definitely make this again. I served this with Syrian green beans, toasted pita bread and wild rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
not bad at all my family devowered it it was just as the directions called for using the curry however i thought it was lacking salt and maybe something else but i will make it again this was cooked on the george foreman grill and served with pita bread and franks red hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
a great marinade with loads of flavor. My husband and daughter ask for this dish often. I serve it with Mujudarrah and it's a fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
me and the bf really enjoyed this.. we skewered and grilled them.. only thing done differently was using lemon instead of mustard as one reviewer suggested.. came out awesome.. ty again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States