Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I was so excited to see a recipe for this - one of my favorite dishes at Middle Eastern restaurants (which there are none of in my hometown). I was a little skeptical that it would be as good as what I'd had in restaurants in big cities, but it was - the garlic sauce is excellent with it. My husband and 2-year-old daughter loved it too. I only marinated it for 5 hours, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very yummy, I was surprised! The flavor was much more mellow than I expected, and you can't tell at all that there is ketchup and mustard in it. I didn't have a chance to make the sauce, so I just served with plain yogurt and rice. Might add red pepper next time for some kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is excellent! It's very tasty and I never thought I would like something Middle Eastern so much. It's delicious, quick to make, and pretty healthy. A new favorite in my home. Don't let the few number of reviews fool you, honestly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was delicious! What a unique taste. The yogurt sauce makes the whole dish! Even my children enjoyed it, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Yum. Very good recipie! I would change a couple of things nex time. First- spice the chicken a ton more- add cinnamon, cumin, & corriander (also real garlic instead of powder). Then in the dipping sauce- add more garlic. This is coming from a garlic freak- so you have to take it with a grain of salt :). My husband and I really enjoyed this dish and will continue to make it for years to come. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I live in the Middle East and I like this recipe as much as I do when I go out! I made it for my whole family as a special Middle Eastern Dinner Night when I went home on vacation and there wasn't one person who disliked it. Even the kids loved it. And we're talking down home southern folks that devoured everything! I added fresh garlic as well, because we love garlic. Served it with hummous, falafels, tabbouleh, fatoosh, pita and fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Be daring and give this a try- it's fabulous. I marinated chicken tenders about 5 hours. It could have been longer. I broiled mine instead of grilling, but I can't wait to grill with it. When grilling,I'll baste with this marinade thinned down with some additional olive oil. Final note: I didn't want to use the mayonaise based sauce shown with this marinade so I made Tzatziki, which is a yogurt and cucumber dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is awesome! I use this site all the time and this is the first time I've ever given a recipe five stars. It's quick and easy to make (although you have to plan ahead) and it comes out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
this was excellent! fun & easy, I put in the curry powder and the spices were just right. I used low-fat mayo in the sauce and it tasted fine. served with salad and pita bread, this is our family's latest chicken favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is great! I added alot of garlic power (used tbs instead of tsp...oops)and omited the allspice it turned out like a paste and it was great. I only let it sit for 5 hours made kabobs and baked them. Next time I think I will BBQ. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Firehouse Marinated Grilled Chicken & Arugula Sa

Watch the crew of East Naples, Florida, prepare marinated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States