Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I live in the Middle East and I like this recipe as much as I do when I go out! I made it for my whole family as a special Middle Eastern Dinner Night when I went home on vacation and there wasn't one person who disliked it. Even the kids loved it. And we're talking down home southern folks that devoured everything! I added fresh garlic as well, because we love garlic. Served it with hummous, falafels, tabbouleh, fatoosh, pita and fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
this was pretty good. I had 5 thighs and used in lieu of breasts. The stated marinade was perfect for 5 good sized thighs...none wasted but plenty to cover liberally. I skinned the thighs and also omitted oil altogether. I omitted the curry powder and keep it more mideast than Indian. Allspice is a commonly used mideast spice and when I got the marinade together(also crushed in 1 clove garlic) the allspice seemed a bit overpowering so added another tbsp. lowfat yogurt. The thighs were tender after marinating overnight and baked up nicely. Served with jasmin rice. I will make again because of ease of prep and ingredients that I always have plenty of on hand. I think next time I would omit the prepared mustard and use lemon juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very tasty! I added the curry and thought the allspice could have been reduced to 1 tsp. Extremely tender after marinating overnight.The dipping sauce was incredible! Very good served with rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Last night I paired this dish along with Near-East brand rice with hummus & flatbread. Wow, what a great treat. Being a metro Detroiter, I’m accustomed to good Lebanese, and this meal didn’t fall short. I omitted the curry power from the marinade, but otherwise followed the directions. The prep was easy the night before. I grilled the chicken on skewers for about 8 minutes per side over a medium low flame. The dipping sauce was nice, but I did add a little extra garlic and puréed. Now if I can only find a recipe for La Shish's garlic sauce this meal would really be complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mk706

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
this recipe was a tough one to rate. the chicken alone is just average and surprisingly leans toward bland (the only change i made was to double the curry powder). the secret to this dish is the sauce which pairs perfectly with the chicken. it does for the meat what peanut butter does for jelly. another thing i discovered quite by accident is that the sauce is 10x better if served at room temperature. it's fine straight out of the fridge, but takes on a whole new life when it sheds the chill. at room temp, this sauce is a religious experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Okay, so I'll admit that I totally forgot to marinate this overnight. I didn't get it in the marinade until late in the morning so it didn't sit as long as I would have liked. Even so, this turned out really well and we all really liked it. I think next time I make this, I'll switch the amounts of the allspice and the curry powder. I think maybe that those two ingredients were switched, but I've been wrong before. There really was just too much allspice for us--that really overpowered the rest of the flavors and spices. I'll also be sure to marinate it longer next time. I'll make this again for sure. I served this with Company Couscous and we all really enjoyed the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I was so excited to see a recipe for this - one of my favorite dishes at Middle Eastern restaurants (which there are none of in my hometown). I was a little skeptical that it would be as good as what I'd had in restaurants in big cities, but it was - the garlic sauce is excellent with it. My husband and 2-year-old daughter loved it too. I only marinated it for 5 hours, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is a great recipe except I would not add cinnamon or allspice again. It overpowers the flavors and I just do not care for cinnamon in a meat dish. I did add lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
me and the bf really enjoyed this.. we skewered and grilled them.. only thing done differently was using lemon instead of mustard as one reviewer suggested.. came out awesome.. ty again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
amazing recipe !!!! thanks for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Firehouse Marinated Grilled Chicken & Arugula Sa

Watch the crew of East Naples, Florida, prepare marinated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States