Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
really easy to make and tastes great. highly recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I marinaded for 24 hours threaded onto skewers with red onion and cooked on the BBQ. served it with fresh pita, the dipping sauce, diced tomatoes and shredded lettuce. The chicken was really tender and tasty. Was a big hit with the family too. Will be cooked often in BBQ season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!!!! Definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Coming from the middle east living abroad, I must say this is THE best recipe that takes me back home. I didn't have any yoghurt so I used heavy cream instead and it turned out perfect on the BBQ (I did omit the curry powder). As for the dipping sauce (called garlic sauce) I used Mayo, garlic, lemon juice and olive oil. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Made this a few times, soooo yummy!! Very easy to make and has great flavor. It's always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amirsmom1
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was easy to make. I liked the flavor but wished it was stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Loved this! Very simple to prepare and very tasty, plus it was so tender. I did use low fat mayo in the dipping sauce, fresh garlic in the marinade, no allspice or cinnamon. I highly recommend not skipping the sauce, as it is pairs perfectly with the chicken, it's what makes the dish. I left the oil out too, to save on calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I initially thought the recipe for the chicken was a strange mix - ketchup? allspice? But with the good reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. It was excellent! The chicken was juicy and very flavorful. It was better than most restaurant chicken tawook I've had in the past. The dipping sauce to go with it was a perfect touch, too. I made hummus and rice to go with the meal and sopped it all up with some pita bread. I am definitely making this again. On a side note, this was a last minute dinner idea so the meat didn't get any time to marinate, but it was still super flavorful. I'm sure if I let it marinate overnight like the recipe says that it would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Okay, so I'll admit that I totally forgot to marinate this overnight. I didn't get it in the marinade until late in the morning so it didn't sit as long as I would have liked. Even so, this turned out really well and we all really liked it. I think next time I make this, I'll switch the amounts of the allspice and the curry powder. I think maybe that those two ingredients were switched, but I've been wrong before. There really was just too much allspice for us--that really overpowered the rest of the flavors and spices. I'll also be sure to marinate it longer next time. I'll make this again for sure. I served this with Company Couscous and we all really enjoyed the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
It was good....don't recall thinking it was AMAZING, but I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States