Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I LOVE shish tawook. I get it all the time at a restaurant near me. If I could eat it everyday, I would! Either in salad form, sandwich form or just by itself, it's wonderful! Thanks for posting this, I will definitely have to try it at home now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was wonderful, delicious and very tender/moist. I did not have the allspice, so that was omitted. This recipe is SO MUCH better than another from this site, which claims to be authentic, yet uses katchup and mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I just made this AGAIN. This is really so good. This really tastes like you are eating food from a Mediterranean or Lebanese restaurant. I cannot stress enough....MAKE THIS TAWOOK...it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Nordy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
WOW- juicy, tender, tasty, and authentic! I marinated the chicken breast strips for 24 hours before cooking them under the broiler. Normally, I am not a big fan of skinless chicken, especially the breast. This recipe will be made again and again with the oh so good for you skinless breast. The only changes I will make next time, and just my personal preference, will be to up the amount of spice, but thats just me. The friends who shared this as part of our Middle Eastern dinner party, and have traveled that part of the world, said the taste was perfect. The left overs were incredible cold the next day.Thank you for sharing an authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Absolutely delicious. We ate it with brown rice and spinach, and I cooked it under the broiler. It would probably be even better outside on the grill, as the recipe states. For lunch the next day, we ate the leftovers in pitas with homemade hummus. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Really good flavours (even though my hubby grilled a little too long). Didn't have allspice but it was fine without. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Loved it! Double the spices next time, not the est of the sauce though, just want more of the spice flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbprairiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
While this was tasty, it tasted nothing like the shish tawook i get at my local middle eastern deli. full disclosure: i used chicken on the bone, so i did not do kabobs. I'm wondering if chunking the chicken would have added more flavor? In any case, made a nice meal, served with grilled pita, and a simple salad of tomatoes, cukes, onions, topped with feta and basalmic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This chicken was easy and wonderful! I reduced the amount of salt to 1/2 tsp. My whole family loved it including my four year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
EXCELLENT! I just made this for dinner tonight and my husband & I were amazed. We used to order shish tawook all the time at a Lebanese restaurant in our old neighborhood. Now that we've moved, we haven't found a place that serves this so I've experimented with several other recipes and they were all disappointing. But this one is JUST RIGHT!!! Very authentic tasting. I modified it slightly to suit our (spicy) tastes by adding more oregano, a little dried mint, turmeric, and a couple dashes of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States