Shirred Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I found that the eggs needed more like 19 minutes in my oven. Then, after the 3-minute rest, the yolks were runny and whites were just barely set. Absolutely the most delicious eggs I've ever had! Will be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Good, easy recipe but I will definitely cook the eggs at the lower end of the time stated next time. The yolks were very well done and I would have preferred them a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yummy! I over cooked them and didn't have heavy cream, I just used milk. Next time I will use cream and keep a close eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is so simple and easy and delicious. It was just what I was looking for. I made the recipe exactly as stated with the exception of increasing the baking time. Perfect served with toast points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
These are the things I had on hand to cook with: half and half, green onions, asiago cheese. Those were the only changes I made except the cooking time. After 12 minutes the whites were still raw so I upped the temp a bit and cooked another 10 minutes. That cooked the yolks almost completely though and I'm a runny fan. That being said the flavor is fantastic. Next time I'll adjust the cooking time some more and hopefully can find the right balance. Such a great alternative egg recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I LOVE Shirred Eggs. they are truly delicious. I discovered them many years ago after reading James Bond order them in Casino Royale and HAD to try them. I have been in love with them since. they can be baked to the consistency you prefer for fried eggs and enhanced in ways fried eggs cannot. for those who prefer a firmer set it is easily achieved by the simple office of a wider, more shallow baking dish. while those who like a softer set can simply use a deeper dish. makes ALL the difference in the world. Shirred Eggs are a wonderful classic and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Love this!!! So delish. I added bacon; put each egg in a separate ramekin with 1.5 tsp of cream. Then I placed the ramekins in a pyrex dish with hot water on the bottom and put it in the oven. It took longer to cook - more like 20 minutes or 25. But the eggs came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used suggestions from others. My family loves eggs made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My grandmother made these every Sunday but baked them for about 40 minutes and served over toast (we call them "baked eggs"). Sprinkle with paprika for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Tried this recipe today and loved it. I didn't have any heavy cream, so I mixed some sour cream with a little milk to the right consistency. I did use the other ingredients. I didn't measure the cheese and chives, but just sprinkled on until it looked right. I wish I would have made three. Looking forward to trying these with different herbs and cheeses. I did bake them a little longer as I don't like runny whites. I also had bacon and buttered French bread toast with them. Great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States