Shirley's Maine Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I don't like when people rate recipes without following the recipe exactly, but here I go, too. I didn't TRY to alter it, but it happened because I realized I didn't have the exact amount of the ingredients. But I'm still rating this a 5, because I make soup a lot, and I didn't think clam chowder would be this easy (and it's usually really expensive to make). But since I fudged on the recipe, I thought I'd give this a 5 star rating, not only because it's simple to make, but because it's so flexible! So here's what I did. I only had 3 8 oz. jars of clam juice and one can of whole clams in juice. I cooked the potatoes in the clam juice, sautéed the bacon, celery, onion together as directed and then added 4 T. of cornstarch. I didn't have any half and half so I used a can of evaporated milk and a little 2% milk. Added a touch of salt and pepper and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I cook the chop and cook the bacon, add the chopped onion, celery and cook until translucent then set aside. I use the same pot to cook the cubed potatoes; I use 3 or 4 cans of chopped clams, I poor the juice off the clams over the potatoes and cook until starting to soften. You can add a little water if need be to just submerge the potatoes in liquid. I also use 2% milk instead of half and half to keep the fat down. You can thicken with cornstarch and water if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I wanted to make Maine clam chowder after visiting Maine this last summer. This was a very easy receip. It was more thin and brothy than I thought it would be, but looked similar to the recipe in my Maine cookbook (which I lost, hence turning to this recipe). The cookbook recipe did not call for bacon, so I didn't have any on hand. Instead I added some real bacon bits as this was simmering. So I just cooked the onions in some butter. I also didn't have that many clams on hand, so I made do with two cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
A true New England chowder. No need to add any thickening agents...the potatoes and cream do that perfectly! I chop a handful of celery leaves and add a bit of dry marjoram to the potato, celery and clam broth while they simmer together. I too prefer salt pork to bacon. I often make a "base" with this to freeze for later, especially when clams are plentiful in the warm months. I make it up to the point where I would add the cream and freeze in quart sized containers. When I'm ready to use it, I thaw the base in the refrigerator and heat slowly with the cream. I also prefer adding cracked black pepper to taste individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I didn't like the part about not draining off the bacon fat after frying. It made the whole chowder too fatty and greasy. In fact, my stomach hurt after eating this chowder. My husband (a New Englander, himself) said it tasted like bacon chowder, not clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylors Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I added some diced carrots and several splashes of hot sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I "doctored" and "cheated" a bit as every cook does: used 3 cans diced potatoes, 2 cans sliced carrots, sauteed the chopped onions and celery with a heaping tablespoon minced garlic in the bacon fat, and used a combination of half and half and heavy cream. Didn't have any clam juice but used 4 cans chopped clams, juice and all. Added a good bit of black pepper to stand up to the cream base and a touch more garlic salt for proper seasoning. Threw it all in the crockpot 8 hours on low...PERFECT-O. Before serving, I dissolved about 5 tablespoons cornstarch in cold water and mixed in to thicken it up to an appropriate "chowder" consistency. So delicious!!! A winter-time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was an easy recipe and the only changes I made were to add a bit more seasonings, clams, and potatoes to suit my taste. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Just about as perfect as it gets. Good sourdough bread and some citrus salad or Waldorf salad and you have a real Saturday night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I added garlic, salt, and cracked pepper. I used 3 cans of chopped clams in place of what was called for in the recipe because I did not have access to shucked clams. My family loved this recipe. It was a little "ligher" than a traditional clam chowder and we liked that. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States