Shirley's Maine Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
A true New England chowder. No need to add any thickening agents...the potatoes and cream do that perfectly! I chop a handful of celery leaves and add a bit of dry marjoram to the potato, celery and clam broth while they simmer together. I too prefer salt pork to bacon. I often make a "base" with this to freeze for later, especially when clams are plentiful in the warm months. I make it up to the point where I would add the cream and freeze in quart sized containers. When I'm ready to use it, I thaw the base in the refrigerator and heat slowly with the cream. I also prefer adding cracked black pepper to taste individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Wow!! The best in a lonnnggg time. Thanks. Hope you don't mind but i made an addition by adding 4 tablespoon's of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Excellent chowder! Even my kids loved it, and that's saying A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Use Salt Pork - these days "Bacon" comes with flavors (maple!!) that don't blend well with clams. BUTTER (!), Thyme (CAREFUL! Go Slow. It can quickly overpower the chowder!) & White Pepper. Best made the "Day Before". Like many soups, stews and chowders . . . time adds to the fullness of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is a very good recipe. My husband and I tried it and we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was such a hit...Thank you, I had never attempted to make Clam chowder before but we ALWAYS order it while out---Hubby says "this is a KEEPER"..Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I added garlic, salt, and cracked pepper. I used 3 cans of chopped clams in place of what was called for in the recipe because I did not have access to shucked clams. My family loved this recipe. It was a little "ligher" than a traditional clam chowder and we liked that. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Just about as perfect as it gets. Good sourdough bread and some citrus salad or Waldorf salad and you have a real Saturday night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I "doctored" and "cheated" a bit as every cook does: used 3 cans diced potatoes, 2 cans sliced carrots, sauteed the chopped onions and celery with a heaping tablespoon minced garlic in the bacon fat, and used a combination of half and half and heavy cream. Didn't have any clam juice but used 4 cans chopped clams, juice and all. Added a good bit of black pepper to stand up to the cream base and a touch more garlic salt for proper seasoning. Threw it all in the crockpot 8 hours on low...PERFECT-O. Before serving, I dissolved about 5 tablespoons cornstarch in cold water and mixed in to thicken it up to an appropriate "chowder" consistency. So delicious!!! A winter-time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I added some diced carrots and several splashes of hot sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States