Shirley's Maine Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Wow!! The best in a lonnnggg time. Thanks. Hope you don't mind but i made an addition by adding 4 tablespoon's of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Excellent chowder! Even my kids loved it, and that's saying A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Use Salt Pork - these days "Bacon" comes with flavors (maple!!) that don't blend well with clams. BUTTER (!), Thyme (CAREFUL! Go Slow. It can quickly overpower the chowder!) & White Pepper. Best made the "Day Before". Like many soups, stews and chowders . . . time adds to the fullness of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Good chowder but somewhat bland. I would probably add some additional seasonings next time - maybe thyme or rosemary. Mine turned out to be very hearty and I didn't think I had enough liquid, so you may want to add more clam juice or half and half. For a thicker chowder, you may want to thicken with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Agatha, Maine, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is a very good recipe. My husband and I tried it and we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe was good after I made some changes to suit my taste. I used a 28oz. can of whole baby clams, 4 potatoes, a 14 1/2 oz. can of evaporated milk, 1 cup of water, and I thickened it with a little flour. I used turkey bacon, but the bacon flavor was strong, so I will cut down on it and use just 9 slices instead of 12 next time. I felt the recipe could use more seasoning, so I added garlic, parsley, thyme, and chicken bouillon. I served it with hot dinner rolls and the family enjoyed it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was such a hit...Thank you, I had never attempted to make Clam chowder before but we ALWAYS order it while out---Hubby says "this is a KEEPER"..Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I added garlic, salt, and cracked pepper. I used 3 cans of chopped clams in place of what was called for in the recipe because I did not have access to shucked clams. My family loved this recipe. It was a little "ligher" than a traditional clam chowder and we liked that. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Just about as perfect as it gets. Good sourdough bread and some citrus salad or Waldorf salad and you have a real Saturday night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was an easy recipe and the only changes I made were to add a bit more seasonings, clams, and potatoes to suit my taste. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States