Shirley's Maine Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Wow!! The best in a lonnnggg time. Thanks. Hope you don't mind but i made an addition by adding 4 tablespoon's of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Excellent chowder! Even my kids loved it, and that's saying A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Use Salt Pork - these days "Bacon" comes with flavors (maple!!) that don't blend well with clams. BUTTER (!), Thyme (CAREFUL! Go Slow. It can quickly overpower the chowder!) & White Pepper. Best made the "Day Before". Like many soups, stews and chowders . . . time adds to the fullness of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Good chowder but somewhat bland. I would probably add some additional seasonings next time - maybe thyme or rosemary. Mine turned out to be very hearty and I didn't think I had enough liquid, so you may want to add more clam juice or half and half. For a thicker chowder, you may want to thicken with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Agatha, Maine, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is a very good recipe. My husband and I tried it and we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe was good after I made some changes to suit my taste. I used a 28oz. can of whole baby clams, 4 potatoes, a 14 1/2 oz. can of evaporated milk, 1 cup of water, and I thickened it with a little flour. I used turkey bacon, but the bacon flavor was strong, so I will cut down on it and use just 9 slices instead of 12 next time. I felt the recipe could use more seasoning, so I added garlic, parsley, thyme, and chicken bouillon. I served it with hot dinner rolls and the family enjoyed it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was such a hit...Thank you, I had never attempted to make Clam chowder before but we ALWAYS order it while out---Hubby says "this is a KEEPER"..Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I added garlic, salt, and cracked pepper. I used 3 cans of chopped clams in place of what was called for in the recipe because I did not have access to shucked clams. My family loved this recipe. It was a little "ligher" than a traditional clam chowder and we liked that. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Just about as perfect as it gets. Good sourdough bread and some citrus salad or Waldorf salad and you have a real Saturday night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was an easy recipe and the only changes I made were to add a bit more seasonings, clams, and potatoes to suit my taste. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States