Shirley Temple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Been drinking these for over 50 years. Wonder if it is regional thing if it is made with gingerale or lemon lime soda. I thought restaurants only made it with lemon lime soda if they did not have gingerale on hand, but apparently not. Introduced my 77 year old mother-in-law to them this summer and she wants them whenever she is at our house now. Husband and kids love them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This has been made time and time again at my house! So glad to see the recipe on AR! Try it! You won't be disappointed!!! It's most definitely holy delicious!!!! Thanks for sharing it on here!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Great recipe - simple and tastes exactly how I remember it, brings back good memories! I like it with the lemon-lime soda, but ginger ale is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Simple and delicious, yet something I'd completely forgotten about! My grandmother always took me to Ruttles (a 50's style diner) whenever she was in town and would always order me a Shirley Temple, b/c A) it was fun and B) because she loved the name! lol Thanks for reminding me about this drink! I will definitely be making this to share with my boys, and telling them stories of their great grandma! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I loved the Shirley Temples and so did my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
A classic - so simple and yet my kids love it. We didn't have anything to make our typical smoothie, so made these instead. The daughter who "won the pretty picture glass" was over the moon excited. Something fun to do with your kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The best kid-friendly cocktail there is! I tend to use a combination of grenadine syrup and the liquid from the maraschino cherries. This is even better if you use a blackcurrant syrup that is slightly thicker than the grenadine. I've never thought of adding orange juice or trying this with ginger ale; may try those suggestions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I'm 25 years old. I still order Shirley Temples to drink half the time when we go out to eat! I like it with Sprite or ginger ale, doesn't really matter to me. I need to try it with a little orange juice like the other reviews say, what an interesting idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Wow, this drink sure does bring back a lot of good memories! As a child, my dad worked as a bartender in a bar/restaurant, and when he worked nights my mom would take us there for dinner. I remember he would always bring me and my sister one of these and we just thought we were sooooo cool, lol! I haven't had one of these in YEARS, but when I took my first sip, it brought me right back to that time. Thank You for that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
A very good drink, but maybe a little too sweet for some. I like this best with ginger ale, and sometimes with a little OJ, as well. If you're feeling naughty, add a splash of vodka or gin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States