Shirazi Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Living in a Persian household for many years, we have changed this recipe & it is even better. Finely chop dill, italian parsley and mint, red pepper,red onion, persian cucumber (all a small dice) tomatoes are optional Instead of Lemon juice, use Japanese rice wine... what flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Close, but not entirely authentic. Add parsley (about 1/2 cup finely chopped) and mint. Ironically dried mint (labeled as mint flakes in traditional grocery stores) works best - 1 or 2 tbsp. Also, for clarification, red onion not white onion. While lemon juice is typically used in this dish in northern Iran, try it southern style with lime juice instead. It adds a little more zing. We usually use at least one (if not two) freshly squeezed lemon/lime; 1 tbsp is too little. Finally, let the salad refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to blend the flavors. This salad makes a great accompaniment to Middle Eastern dishes such as kabob, kofta, falafel, donair, etc, but also try it with steak or carne asada. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a traditional dish that all Persians have had in their lifetime. The only thing missing is chopped mint, which brings the whole dish together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
There were a couple of things I knew wouldn’t appeal to me in this recipe so I took the liberty of making a few modifications. I decided for the purpose of what I intended this salad for that it would be easier to eat, and prettier to boot, if it wasn't all chopped up. I used fresh crisp baby cucumbers, sliced, and tiny grape tomatoes. Since I’m having dinner guests tonight and not familiar with their tastes, I played it safe and left out the onion. Finally, with just salt and a little lemon juice, I knew this would be rather flat and lifeless in my view. I had some homemade lemon-dill vinaigrette left over which worked ideally with the addition of even more dill. The salad now is delicious - light, fresh and nicely enhanced with the dill, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper and Dijon mustard in the vinaigrette. I’m sure my guests will love it. I suppose my alterations effectively changed the authenticity of this salad (one I’m not familiar with) but I was quite pleased to use the recipe as a base reference for my own tweaks. As is, however, I can’t rate it any more than average, as it lacks any real character or flavor distinction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Fresh and crunchy. The only thing I added was some chopped mint because that is how I had it at a Persian restaurant. It tastes more authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
So refreshing and healthy!!!! It was well worth all the effort of dicing and chopping. Took other viewers advice and added dill, mint, parsley, red pepper and used the red onion. Next time I am going to try the Japanese Rice Wine, but to me the flavor was out of this world even using the lemon juice. With all the compliments I got, I felt like taking a bow...but really SABUYUKCAN and all the helpful reviewers ought to be the ones to do it!!! Thanks so much for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
served this a few weeks ago with 'Lamb Shawarma' from this site, and they were both great. i love simple, clean recipes like this; the fact that it's both delicious on its own AND easy to customize to your own tastes makes it five-star worthy, nothing less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmstarr
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I love how healthy & delicious this is !!! I added a good handful of minced fresh mint & about half a handful of minced fresh italian parsley. I topped with feta. I recommend that you serve with a slotted spoon &/or place in a different bowl (after draining) before serving. I accompanied this with baked pita triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is good and pretty quick to make especially when there isn't any lettuce in the house. It has a very fresh taste. I made 1/2 the recipe and still got nearly the same amount of servings. I think an unpeeled English cucumber and a red onion would work best, but the recipe as is works fine to if made right before eating. I found that it does not refridgerate well at all, as the lemon juice will turn it sour after sitting too long, so I would only make the amount that can be eaten in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Delicious. I crumbled Feta Cheese on top and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States