Shirazi Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
served this a few weeks ago with 'Lamb Shawarma' from this site, and they were both great. i love simple, clean recipes like this; the fact that it's both delicious on its own AND easy to customize to your own tastes makes it five-star worthy, nothing less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
There were a couple of things I knew wouldn’t appeal to me in this recipe so I took the liberty of making a few modifications. I decided for the purpose of what I intended this salad for that it would be easier to eat, and prettier to boot, if it wasn't all chopped up. I used fresh crisp baby cucumbers, sliced, and tiny grape tomatoes. Since I’m having dinner guests tonight and not familiar with their tastes, I played it safe and left out the onion. Finally, with just salt and a little lemon juice, I knew this would be rather flat and lifeless in my view. I had some homemade lemon-dill vinaigrette left over which worked ideally with the addition of even more dill. The salad now is delicious - light, fresh and nicely enhanced with the dill, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper and Dijon mustard in the vinaigrette. I’m sure my guests will love it. I suppose my alterations effectively changed the authenticity of this salad (one I’m not familiar with) but I was quite pleased to use the recipe as a base reference for my own tweaks. As is, however, I can’t rate it any more than average, as it lacks any real character or flavor distinction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
So refreshing and healthy!!!! It was well worth all the effort of dicing and chopping. Took other viewers advice and added dill, mint, parsley, red pepper and used the red onion. Next time I am going to try the Japanese Rice Wine, but to me the flavor was out of this world even using the lemon juice. With all the compliments I got, I felt like taking a bow...but really SABUYUKCAN and all the helpful reviewers ought to be the ones to do it!!! Thanks so much for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was great! Reminds me of my favorite Greek salad. I added dried oregano for a little more flavor. Great summer salad without oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Close, but not entirely authentic. Add parsley (about 1/2 cup finely chopped) and mint. Ironically dried mint (labeled as mint flakes in traditional grocery stores) works best - 1 or 2 tbsp. Also, for clarification, red onion not white onion. While lemon juice is typically used in this dish in northern Iran, try it southern style with lime juice instead. It adds a little more zing. We usually use at least one (if not two) freshly squeezed lemon/lime; 1 tbsp is too little. Finally, let the salad refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to blend the flavors. This salad makes a great accompaniment to Middle Eastern dishes such as kabob, kofta, falafel, donair, etc, but also try it with steak or carne asada. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Simple, fresh, healthy salad. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was a little bland I even used fresh homegrown tomatoes , just needs some jazzing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful salad - I couldn't keep picking at it while making it! I did as others suggested, and added mint and parsley. I will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I loved this. Have to wait till dinner to find out what everyone else thinks. But I have a feeling it will be a hit here. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Awesome!!! The only thing I changed is I added some tomato basil feta cheese. If you like fresh vegetables from the garden, you'll love this salad. Very healthy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States