Shirazi Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
When you serve a salad nearly every dinner, you're always looking for something a little different. We really enjoyed this simple, 5 ingredient salad. I added chopped parsley and next time will use mint. It has a very fresh, cleansing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleescraga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Such a cool, refreshing salad. I like to add a bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Shirazi Salad (called "Salad Shirazi" in Iran) is a classic Iranian (Persian) salad. I soak my onion in the lemon juice with a tad of honey before adding the other ingredients to take the "skunky" taste off the onion (preferably a sweet onion) as I always do; however, Iranians do not do that. Iranians also commonly make this salad with lime juice (instead of lemon juice), including a very sour bottled lime juice available from the Iranian grocery store. I personally seed my cucumbers and tomatoes before chopping them. The vegetable pieces must be chopped to about the size of peas for an authentic salad. Dried mint, powdered by rubbing it between the fingers, is an optional ingredient in the classic version. I myself prefer peppermint over spearmint for the stronger taste. Iranians commonly serving this salad in small 3 ounce cups (not usually on the main dinner plate). Thank you SABUYUKCAN for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I rather add verjuice than lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe needed alot of tweeking. For starters, true Shirazi Salad has mint and parsley. Red onion gives it the truer flavor and as a personal preference I use a clove of fresh garlic and fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I am a big fan of shirazi salad and accompany it with almost anything! This recipe is missing the parsley and mint. I prefer lime juice since it's a bit more tangy than lemon and feel 1 tablespoon is simply not enough. 1 or 2 limes would be best and please, please, please use red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Hi In Iran, we make it in summer time. for better taste, add some olive oil and black pepper. some grounded dried mint leaves can make it better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by run away cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I always order Shirazi salad whenever I go to any Persian restaurant, and some times I make it my self . the recipe is good but it needs mint and parsley to be authentic . I love adding black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
omit mint! could be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is good and pretty quick to make especially when there isn't any lettuce in the house. It has a very fresh taste. I made 1/2 the recipe and still got nearly the same amount of servings. I think an unpeeled English cucumber and a red onion would work best, but the recipe as is works fine to if made right before eating. I found that it does not refridgerate well at all, as the lemon juice will turn it sour after sitting too long, so I would only make the amount that can be eaten in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States