Shirazi Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Shirazi Salad (called "Salad Shirazi" in Iran) is a classic Iranian (Persian) salad. I soak my onion in the lemon juice with a tad of honey before adding the other ingredients to take the "skunky" taste off the onion (preferably a sweet onion) as I always do; however, Iranians do not do that. Iranians also commonly make this salad with lime juice (instead of lemon juice), including a very sour bottled lime juice available from the Iranian grocery store. I personally seed my cucumbers and tomatoes before chopping them. The vegetable pieces be chopped to about the size of peas for an authentic salad (no large pieces - Iranians eat with a fork and tablespoon - no knives). Dried mint, powdered by rubbing it between the fingers, is an optional ingredient in the classic version. I myself prefer peppermint over spearmint for the stronger taste. Iranians commonly serving this salad in small 3 ounce cups (not usually on the main dinner plate). Thank you SABUYUKCAN for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is easy to make and I let it marinate over night. The picture shows sliced cucumbers; but the recipe says to dice them. I have done it both ways and it is fine either way. I do, however, cut back on the onion and I usually use a red onion. I am not a big fan of raw onions. I have also added celery sometimes. It is a refreshing light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
When you serve a salad nearly every dinner, you're always looking for something a little different. We really enjoyed this simple, 5 ingredient salad. I added chopped parsley and next time will use mint. It has a very fresh, cleansing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleescraga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Such a cool, refreshing salad. I like to add a bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I rather add verjuice than lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe needed alot of tweeking. For starters, true Shirazi Salad has mint and parsley. Red onion gives it the truer flavor and as a personal preference I use a clove of fresh garlic and fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I am a big fan of shirazi salad and accompany it with almost anything! This recipe is missing the parsley and mint. I prefer lime juice since it's a bit more tangy than lemon and feel 1 tablespoon is simply not enough. 1 or 2 limes would be best and please, please, please use red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Hi In Iran, we make it in summer time. for better taste, add some olive oil and black pepper. some grounded dried mint leaves can make it better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by run away cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I always order Shirazi salad whenever I go to any Persian restaurant, and some times I make it my self . the recipe is good but it needs mint and parsley to be authentic . I love adding black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
omit mint! could be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States