Shipwreck Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
very good stew! I felt the sauce needed something more, so I added 1tbl.minced garlic and 1 pkg taco seasoning (I didnt have chili seasoning)....The result was outstanding. My husband gave it rave reviews...this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Ugh...blah! Was NOTHING special...actually, it is named appropriately - it tasted like a shipwreck. No spice, no flavor, no nothing. Even with added spices it was just...just....there. Not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I added chopped garlic, a can of corn, salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of chili powder. Cooked it for about 6 hours...everything was done perfect. Served it with hot cornbread...a definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My kids loved this so much that they want it again this week! The only change I made was I did not add the meat until about 1/2 hour before serving. Was wonderful w/ homemade rolls. I think what made it so great was as soon as they left for school I started it and did not have much to do before dinnertime and it was a complete meal in one pot! Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I really like this stew for it's simplicity. I added some carrots, used stewing beef instead of ground beef and increased the cooking time a little bit. This is a regular meal at my house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
this is a very flavorful recipe with simple ingredients. i went with the flow & added nearly a teaspoon of garlic powder, briefly sauteed my onion & added a cup of chopped carrots to the mix. the quantity was too much for my crock pot so i put everything in a dutch oven & baked it at 325 degrees for 1 hour then reduced the temperature to 200 degrees for 4 more hours. yummy on a cool autumn night! thanks deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This is a very good basic recipe, the nice thing about it is that you can add a varity of differnt things....I have to admit that I did change it only because I only had a couple ingredients and it sounded good. I used steak ( ribeye) and seasoned with a dash of the following.... garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt and a dash or two of chili powder while browning it, 2 cans of diced tomato,1 can kidney bean and 1 can black bean, half a onion and half the potatos. Yum, yum, yum......Thank you, next time I will be sure to try it your way but it's so flexible, very tastey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I took some of the suggestions from other reviewers and added garlic (1 clove) and a packet of taco seasoning mix. I only made half of the recipe, and cut the potatoes into cubes so they would soften up in the crockpot. Turned out delicous -a great comfort food on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very yummy & super easy to make. Stocked the freezer w/this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great basic recipe! I only had pinto beans, but they worked fine. Next time I'll be sure to have kidney beans, though, and maybe try a can of corn, too. I followed the suggestion to add a packet of taco seasoning, and the stew was delicious with no other flavorings. I also used fewer potatoes and cut them in small cubes so they would be completely done in the 4 hours I had to cook this recipe in my crockpot. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States