Shipwreck Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was a good soup. Nothing amazing, but good and filling. I only used 1lb. of meat and 4 potatoes and that was plenty. It could have used some more seasoning, maybe garlic. And I think it would nice to add a bag of frozen mixed veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I've been making this for years and years---except I use cut up carrots instead of the beans, and mix in a sprinkle of Italian spices and a 1/2 can of water. My kids and now my grandkids just love it! I only simmer it until the carrots are cooked through---1/2 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
We used to make this recipe over a campfire. However, since one son is allergic to kidney beans, we added whole kernel corn instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I must have done something wrong!! The potatoes were hard. I did add some spices to the meat while browning (salt, paprika, cayenne and black pepper) and I added minced garlic to the crock pot. Even if the potatoes had been done, I think it was bland and needed even more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I added carrots and lots of black pepper. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was an OK recipe. I liked the idea of it but it seemed to be "missing something". The description of it mentions carrots but the recipe does not have any in it. Is it a misprint. I would make this again but I will doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My kids loved this so much that they want it again this week! The only change I made was I did not add the meat until about 1/2 hour before serving. Was wonderful w/ homemade rolls. I think what made it so great was as soon as they left for school I started it and did not have much to do before dinnertime and it was a complete meal in one pot! Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
very good stew! I felt the sauce needed something more, so I added 1tbl.minced garlic and 1 pkg taco seasoning (I didnt have chili seasoning)....The result was outstanding. My husband gave it rave reviews...this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I added chopped garlic, a can of corn, salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of chili powder. Cooked it for about 6 hours...everything was done perfect. Served it with hot cornbread...a definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was great, thought I admit I tweaked it a little. I cut the recipe in half, as we really didn't need 10 servings. Threw in the onions to cook a bit with the beef after draining the grease. I did add a soup can of water, as it was a little dry while cooking the potatos. Added some garlic powder, chili powder, rosemary, basil, marojam, black pepper, and oregano (sorry, didn't measure!). Also added in a half pound of frozen mixed veggies. Being one of the few people left without a slow cooker, just simmered on stove top until potatos were done. This was wonderful chilly-night comfort food. Hearty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States