Shipwreck Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was a good soup. Nothing amazing, but good and filling. I only used 1lb. of meat and 4 potatoes and that was plenty. It could have used some more seasoning, maybe garlic. And I think it would nice to add a bag of frozen mixed veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I've been making this for years and years---except I use cut up carrots instead of the beans, and mix in a sprinkle of Italian spices and a 1/2 can of water. My kids and now my grandkids just love it! I only simmer it until the carrots are cooked through---1/2 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
We used to make this recipe over a campfire. However, since one son is allergic to kidney beans, we added whole kernel corn instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I must have done something wrong!! The potatoes were hard. I did add some spices to the meat while browning (salt, paprika, cayenne and black pepper) and I added minced garlic to the crock pot. Even if the potatoes had been done, I think it was bland and needed even more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I added carrots and lots of black pepper. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was an OK recipe. I liked the idea of it but it seemed to be "missing something". The description of it mentions carrots but the recipe does not have any in it. Is it a misprint. I would make this again but I will doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My kids loved this so much that they want it again this week! The only change I made was I did not add the meat until about 1/2 hour before serving. Was wonderful w/ homemade rolls. I think what made it so great was as soon as they left for school I started it and did not have much to do before dinnertime and it was a complete meal in one pot! Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
very good stew! I felt the sauce needed something more, so I added 1tbl.minced garlic and 1 pkg taco seasoning (I didnt have chili seasoning)....The result was outstanding. My husband gave it rave reviews...this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I added chopped garlic, a can of corn, salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of chili powder. Cooked it for about 6 hours...everything was done perfect. Served it with hot cornbread...a definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was great, thought I admit I tweaked it a little. I cut the recipe in half, as we really didn't need 10 servings. Threw in the onions to cook a bit with the beef after draining the grease. I did add a soup can of water, as it was a little dry while cooking the potatos. Added some garlic powder, chili powder, rosemary, basil, marojam, black pepper, and oregano (sorry, didn't measure!). Also added in a half pound of frozen mixed veggies. Being one of the few people left without a slow cooker, just simmered on stove top until potatos were done. This was wonderful chilly-night comfort food. Hearty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States