Shipwreck Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Ugh...blah! Was NOTHING special...actually, it is named appropriately - it tasted like a shipwreck. No spice, no flavor, no nothing. Even with added spices it was just...just....there. Not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great basic recipe! I only had pinto beans, but they worked fine. Next time I'll be sure to have kidney beans, though, and maybe try a can of corn, too. I followed the suggestion to add a packet of taco seasoning, and the stew was delicious with no other flavorings. I also used fewer potatoes and cut them in small cubes so they would be completely done in the 4 hours I had to cook this recipe in my crockpot. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
this is a very flavorful recipe with simple ingredients. i went with the flow & added nearly a teaspoon of garlic powder, briefly sauteed my onion & added a cup of chopped carrots to the mix. the quantity was too much for my crock pot so i put everything in a dutch oven & baked it at 325 degrees for 1 hour then reduced the temperature to 200 degrees for 4 more hours. yummy on a cool autumn night! thanks deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was great, thought I admit I tweaked it a little. I cut the recipe in half, as we really didn't need 10 servings. Threw in the onions to cook a bit with the beef after draining the grease. I did add a soup can of water, as it was a little dry while cooking the potatos. Added some garlic powder, chili powder, rosemary, basil, marojam, black pepper, and oregano (sorry, didn't measure!). Also added in a half pound of frozen mixed veggies. Being one of the few people left without a slow cooker, just simmered on stove top until potatos were done. This was wonderful chilly-night comfort food. Hearty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I added chopped garlic, a can of corn, salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of chili powder. Cooked it for about 6 hours...everything was done perfect. Served it with hot cornbread...a definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
very good stew! I felt the sauce needed something more, so I added 1tbl.minced garlic and 1 pkg taco seasoning (I didnt have chili seasoning)....The result was outstanding. My husband gave it rave reviews...this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My kids loved this so much that they want it again this week! The only change I made was I did not add the meat until about 1/2 hour before serving. Was wonderful w/ homemade rolls. I think what made it so great was as soon as they left for school I started it and did not have much to do before dinnertime and it was a complete meal in one pot! Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was an OK recipe. I liked the idea of it but it seemed to be "missing something". The description of it mentions carrots but the recipe does not have any in it. Is it a misprint. I would make this again but I will doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I added carrots and lots of black pepper. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I must have done something wrong!! The potatoes were hard. I did add some spices to the meat while browning (salt, paprika, cayenne and black pepper) and I added minced garlic to the crock pot. Even if the potatoes had been done, I think it was bland and needed even more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States