Shiny Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I never have corn syrup in the house, but always have maple syrup. Used that in place of corn syrup and it was great! (A very, very subtle maple syrup flavour, if you're looking for it. Turned the icing just a very faint shade of beige, but once you add food colour, you wouldn't even notice it.) My daughter loved this icing so much, she started suggesting we do cookies with this icing in lieu of a birthday cake!!!!!! Note that if you want to put sprinkles on top (like in the photo), you must ice and then sprinkle that same cookie, and then repeat. Don't wait to pour all the icing before starting to sprinkle! The icing hardens so fast that by the time you finish pouring it all, the icing is already dry and the sprinkles won't stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Best sugar cookie frosting ever. Does need extra milk though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My go to! Easy. Pretty. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Wonderful for decorating icing, enough for more than 24 cookies...taste not there, just sweet. Sets up nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This worked really well with my Christmas Cookies... I didn't have corn syrup so I sub it for all natural honey or agave syrup and it worked well in the mix...I stilled added more milk than what it called for until I got the consistency I wanted. Family said it tasted great with the syrup sub so it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. Easy, fast, and simple to remember. Yes, the recipe definitely needs more milk. I added 2 tablespoons (6 teaspoons) initially and then added another splash later as well. Maybe 2 1/2 tablespoons or possibly 3 is the magic number for this. If you don't get everything iced by the time the frosting begins to harden up, just pop it in the microwave for a few seconds to soften so you can spread it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I've been looking for a quick & easy glaze for my Christmas cookies for several years. Like everyone else, I added more milk to get it to the consistency I wanted but that's just a personal preference thing. Like others have said, the neutral flavor is great. I added peppermint extract to my cup of red icing that I used to glaze the miniature candy cane cookies. This absolutely going into my go-to file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe, it turned out great, had to add more milk as it was stiff. Should have doubled to begin with as I did over 60 cookies. I liked them being all shiny, put icing on rolled cookie recipe, also added almond flavoring as I put 1 tsp. in cookies itself, good compliment to cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I added a little extra milk and I made simple syrup because I didn't have any light syrup. I love this recipe! It's quick to make and the icing has a beautiful shine. This is a must keep recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Shiny, pretty, and oh so easy! Hardened up nicely. Just needs a tad more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States