Shiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is glorious! Buttery, chocolatey goodness. Perfect for dipping cupcakes!! (Amount stated was a bit more than I needed to glaze 24 full size cupcakes) Instead of bittersweet chocolate, I used up the rest of my semi-sweet chocolate chips. And, I just microwave'd butter and chocolate - as opposed to using the double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Bittersweet chocolate is not generally my preferenence for either eating or baking, but since hubs prefers dark chocolate I prepared this glaze as the recipe directs, using high quality Scharffen Berger bittersweet chocolate, and whoa, this made for an intensely chocolate glaze! It is soft, yet still looks glossy and shiny even after it sets. I used this to glaze the rather plain tasting "Neapolitan Cake," also from this site, and they were perfect for each other. This would be the type of glaze I'd expect to see on European tortes or petit fours -it has that kind of smooth, professional look. I used the microwave to make this but let it go a little too long, so it wasn't as perfectly smooth as it should have been -be extra careful and attentive when melting chocolate, especially when you're using the expensive, good stuff! Once melted, it was a little too thin to pour, so I just stuck it in the fridge, stirring every now and then, till it became the right consistency. Serious chocolate fans will love this glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made this yesterday and it worked beautifully on a pound cake. Great taste and easy to make and use. I did it all in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by HEBH
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wow, yummy, shiny, and easy. I cut the recipe in half for 24 cupcakes. I used half semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2 1oz. bars of unsweetened chocolate since that is what I had on hand. Even though I halfed the recipe since I used some unsweetened chocolate I used a whole tablespoon of honey and I melted the whole thing in a pyrex dish in the microwave. I heated it for 20 seconds and then stirred and repeated until it was smooth (about 70 seconds total). I will definitely use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Perfect. Just what I needed for my son's birthday cake. NOTE: I used 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips, semi-sweet, and it worked perfectly. You don't have to have a fancy double-boiler. I just did what Grandma taught me and fit a bowl over a small saucepan. Wa-la, instant double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was amazingly easy to make! I substituted the corn syrup with honey, and it worked great! Will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
use a microwave!! put all ingredients in a glass measuring cup and microwave for 15 seconds, stir, then another 15 seconds, and stir, until smooth. It was a little thick for my preference so I added a few TBS of hot strong coffee to thin it out (have used rum too!) and it was perfect. will use this 283928908 more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was so bitter, I would not use it again. It ruined the cake I made. No one commented on the cake at all and no one definitely asked for a second piece. When I tasted it I knew why. This was way too bitter, ended up scrapping it all off. I saved the cake by making a torte with the crumbs. This was embarassing as I took it to an event without trying it first. It was the worst item at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Oh! this was so easy and very good. I used 1/2 milk chocolate and 1/2 dark chocolate chips. It was a little bit thick, but spread onto brownies very easily and oh so smooth. Very decadent! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States