Shiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Perfect! I couldn't have asked it to turn out any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made it exactly as the recipe said as I actually had a box of bittersweet chocolate, light corn syrup and butter. So bitter! I'm only giving it two stars instead of one because I was able to fix it to make it palatable. I added about a teaspoon of vanilla, two more tablespoons of corn syrup, and it was still bad. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and couple of more tablespoons of butter. Basically, a whole new recipe. The reason I used the original recipe in the first place was because I didn't have the 3-4 cups of powdered sugar the other recipes on this site called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Oh my goodness! Absolutely the best glaze recipe I have ever used. I halved the recipe to use on a Bundt cake. It was perfect. My family is not too happy though, because the cake will be going to a church function tomorrow, so they can't eat it. Can't wait to try it on a dessert we will be eating at home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I know some people love the dark bitter taste, but I don't and neither do the people I was making my cake for, so I added 2 more T. of corn syrup after I tasted it to sweeten it up just a little. Next time I would even use this recipe with German chocolate with the 1 T. of corn syrup. Texture-wise it turned out fantastic. Nice and shiny and wonderful consistency for pouring over a fancy bundt pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I didn't have any bittersweet chocolate on hand, so I used cooking chocolate. And I didn't have any corn syrup, so I just added 1 tbsp. of icing sugar. Turned out shiny & tasted good. My mini cupcakes looked very nice with the shiny glaze, with white chocolate rice sprinkled on top. Thanks for a simple & great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was so bitter, I would not use it again. It ruined the cake I made. No one commented on the cake at all and no one definitely asked for a second piece. When I tasted it I knew why. This was way too bitter, ended up scrapping it all off. I saved the cake by making a torte with the crumbs. This was embarassing as I took it to an event without trying it first. It was the worst item at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe tastes great, I poured it over a bundt cake. I needed more glaze than the recipe called for, and I wanted the glaze thicker too. So I added an extra 4 - 1oz. squares of chocolate (used a total of 12 - 1 oz. squares and did not increase the other two ingredients). Yum!!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Super easy and impressive results. Make sure you realize it calls for 8 ounces chocolate, not 1 (another reviewer gave it a bad review and mentioned she used 1.5 ounces!). Shortening would work too and have more shine I believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Had to put a glaze on a flourless chocolate cake... the right amount for an 8 inch round, silky smooth and delicious... will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Great, easy, beautiful! I poured it over a molded chocolate bunny cake and it looks like a giant chocolate Easter Bunny. It even gives you just enough time to smoothe it over missed spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States