Shiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Perfect! I couldn't have asked it to turn out any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made it exactly as the recipe said as I actually had a box of bittersweet chocolate, light corn syrup and butter. So bitter! I'm only giving it two stars instead of one because I was able to fix it to make it palatable. I added about a teaspoon of vanilla, two more tablespoons of corn syrup, and it was still bad. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and couple of more tablespoons of butter. Basically, a whole new recipe. The reason I used the original recipe in the first place was because I didn't have the 3-4 cups of powdered sugar the other recipes on this site called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Oh my goodness! Absolutely the best glaze recipe I have ever used. I halved the recipe to use on a Bundt cake. It was perfect. My family is not too happy though, because the cake will be going to a church function tomorrow, so they can't eat it. Can't wait to try it on a dessert we will be eating at home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I know some people love the dark bitter taste, but I don't and neither do the people I was making my cake for, so I added 2 more T. of corn syrup after I tasted it to sweeten it up just a little. Next time I would even use this recipe with German chocolate with the 1 T. of corn syrup. Texture-wise it turned out fantastic. Nice and shiny and wonderful consistency for pouring over a fancy bundt pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I didn't have any bittersweet chocolate on hand, so I used cooking chocolate. And I didn't have any corn syrup, so I just added 1 tbsp. of icing sugar. Turned out shiny & tasted good. My mini cupcakes looked very nice with the shiny glaze, with white chocolate rice sprinkled on top. Thanks for a simple & great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was so bitter, I would not use it again. It ruined the cake I made. No one commented on the cake at all and no one definitely asked for a second piece. When I tasted it I knew why. This was way too bitter, ended up scrapping it all off. I saved the cake by making a torte with the crumbs. This was embarassing as I took it to an event without trying it first. It was the worst item at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe tastes great, I poured it over a bundt cake. I needed more glaze than the recipe called for, and I wanted the glaze thicker too. So I added an extra 4 - 1oz. squares of chocolate (used a total of 12 - 1 oz. squares and did not increase the other two ingredients). Yum!!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Super easy and impressive results. Make sure you realize it calls for 8 ounces chocolate, not 1 (another reviewer gave it a bad review and mentioned she used 1.5 ounces!). Shortening would work too and have more shine I believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Had to put a glaze on a flourless chocolate cake... the right amount for an 8 inch round, silky smooth and delicious... will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Great, easy, beautiful! I poured it over a molded chocolate bunny cake and it looks like a giant chocolate Easter Bunny. It even gives you just enough time to smoothe it over missed spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States