Shiitake and Baby Bella Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wow, this recipe was really good. And my husband even made it, lol. We found some mushrooms from http://growokc.com and everything turned out better than expected. We will be doing some more recipes on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
The recipe is great! I switched recipes to serve 3 people, and it was plenty! I cooked it in a large pan, so I needed quite a bit more liquid, but just used hot water like the recipe said. I only had Shiitake mushrooms, and used the same amount of both combined- was so delicious! I did add a little minced garlic. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Loved this. I love salty, and I didn't find this overly salty at all. I added. I used dried thyme instead of fresh. I also used Marsala wine. Very flavorful- for sure a hit with anyone who loves mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fields
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I make asparagus risotto all the time, but decided that I wanted to try mushrooms this time. This recipe calls for about 3x the amount of wine that I normally use (NOT a bad thing!!). I followed it exactly as written and was thrilled with the results! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Excellent. I used one clove of garlic and onion instead of shallot. I also substituted the thyme and parsley with basil and oregano because that's what I have in the garden. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Yum! I would add a little cayenne to the shallots, and put the thyme in a little later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Thanks for your recipe. I make risotto at least once a week and use leftover risotto to make little fried rice patties for lunch the next day. Here are some of my tips for making any risotto. Always use low sodium broths for risotto and keep the broth at a low simmer in a saucepan when adding it to the rice whilst cooking. Cook the risotto in a heavy bottomed Dutch oven or similar pan, it will hold the heat better and reduce total cooking/stirring time. The butter is a nice touch but adds little flavor to the risotto, I'd omit it and reduce the fat content of the dish. This is a great dish to start young cooks in the kitchen. Under supervision, get the kids to stir the rice during the cooking. Kids involved in food preparation tend to eat more new things at an earlier age. Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Yummy! Used shiitake mushrooms only and skipped the celery salt, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This came out GREAT! I only used the baby bellas because that was available. If you have any reservations about trying to make risotto, try this receipe--it's easy and the results are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I only used shiitake mushrooms and it was very good. I am not a big mushroom person, but it was so creamy and tasty. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MurphyMom
Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Upton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States