Shiitake Mushroom and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I am not excited about the taste of this soup at all. It was kind of bland tasting and the cheddar clumped even though I had taken the soup off the burner and let it cool a bit. Added some parm to salt/flavor it up, along with more spices. Just too rubbery overall with the cheddar and shitakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTMARRIED62

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
The flavor was wonderful and just as all of the other comments stated, the cheese does clump. What was not mentioned was that shitake mushrooms are a diarrhetic. Oh boy, they really are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Quick way to use leftover mushrooms! I loved it and will most likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I don't like Shiitake mushrooms but it turned out to be delicious! I used Dill weed instead of sage. I added the cheddar cheese just before eating a portion. It avoids the cheese to be all clumped up before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajdadulla
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Tasty soup. My family and our guests loved it although my hubby is not a soup-type person. It's also adaptable as you can see from other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The soup didn't have too much flavor. Like other reviewers, the cheese stuck together in one blob on the bottom of the pot. I added some thyme and it made it better (at least for me), but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Just cooked this up for dinner tonight, and this is probably one of the best soups I ever had. I subtracted the bacon (I can't stand the stuff) and used fat free beef broth. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolf308

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
OUTSTANDING! I followed the recipe to the letter EXCEPT I used chicken stock instead of beef. It pairs much better with sage in my opinion. I also took Shelley's advice and added the cheese via a white sauce I prepared. Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carling5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really great and easy to make soup. I omitted the sage as I didn't feel it meshed well with the flavor profiles of the mushrooms and bacon. My only suggestion would be to drain most of the fat off the bacon before adding the mushrooms. I substituded the cheddar cheese with Weight Watchers Shredded Mexican Blend. Worked great and makes the meal 3 points per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The flavor is spectacular. I would have done the cheddar differently. It clumped together and fell to the bottom. The next time, I will make a white sauce with butter and flour cooked, milk added then cheddar. Add that to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States