Shiitake Mushroom and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
delicious soup! i don't like sage so i left that out, but it was excellent anyway. i ran out of shiitake mushrooms once and i used mun mushrooms (i think in the US they are called Jelly Ear mushrooms), and i think i actually like it more than with the shiitake. my favorite way of eating this soup is with udon noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used this recipe and halved it all except the sage (cause I love sage) and the bacon (cause seriously have you ever heard anyone say "it would have been good if it weren't for all that pesky bacon"?) It is supposta be a soup but I just added a bit of flour and cornstarch to thicken it up then served it over egg noodles, though rice would have been good too. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! Prepared as written, just decreased the quantities a little since it was just for me. Very earthy and comforting. Perhaps a splash of beer would be a nice addition?! Will try next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I love this soup, I make it all the time and even my son who hates mushrooms loves it. I do mix chicken and beef broth for extra goodness, and peppered bacon add to it. Making it today actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
OUTSTANDING! I followed the recipe to the letter EXCEPT I used chicken stock instead of beef. It pairs much better with sage in my opinion. I also took Shelley's advice and added the cheese via a white sauce I prepared. Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carling5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Tasty soup. My family and our guests loved it although my hubby is not a soup-type person. It's also adaptable as you can see from other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I didn't have the bacon so I did leave that out. I used 2 different kinds of fresh mushrooms and instead of using milk and broth I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup with 4 cans of water. Recipes for me are always a "suggestion" so I used what was on hand and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Definitely a keeper! Cant think of anything i'd change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really great and easy to make soup. I omitted the sage as I didn't feel it meshed well with the flavor profiles of the mushrooms and bacon. My only suggestion would be to drain most of the fat off the bacon before adding the mushrooms. I substituded the cheddar cheese with Weight Watchers Shredded Mexican Blend. Worked great and makes the meal 3 points per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Just cooked this up for dinner tonight, and this is probably one of the best soups I ever had. I subtracted the bacon (I can't stand the stuff) and used fat free beef broth. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolf308

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States