Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very filling and rich! I made this with the "Parmesan Chicken" recipe from this site. The only changes I made were adding a little butter to saute and also melting about 1/2 cup of fresh grated Parmesan cheese to the sauce after it was done. Next time I will omit the chicken broth and double the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christy3232
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! I used baby bellas instead of the shitakes. Also doubled the sauce ingredients, except subbed chicken broth for the wine, and used half & half for the cream. It took a while for the saucxxe to reduce - probably 20-30 minutes, but it turned out awesome!! Can't wait to make again! thanks for a simple and tasty recipe that can be used as either a hearty side or a main dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I love this recipe! My grocery store was out of shiitake mushrooms so I used white mushrooms and also threw in some peas. Though this is supposed to be a side dish, I served it as a main dish with salad and garlic bread. It would be awesome with chicken or shrimp which I will try next time. This is an easy delicious dish that tastes like it came from a great Italian restaurant. Definitely try it...delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This sauce has really nice mushroom flavor even with the button mushrooms I used. The sauce is so nice & creamy. I made the sauce with garlic & green onions to start, then added sliced mushrooms. Then 1 part each of chicken broth and wine (okay probably a bit more wine!). The wine cooks down nicely. Then 2 parts evaporated milk and about 1T parmesan cheese in the sauce to thicken it up. It turned out perfect. I put it over thin spaghetti. This is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Used cooking sherry instead of wine (thanks Molly111) and subsituted water, thyme, salt and pepper for the ck broth to keep it vegetarian. Stirred in a bit of cornstarch for thickening, about a tablespoon of lemon juice to perk it up, and topped with steamed asparagus. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
delicious! my family is super picky and they all loved these noodles. i made it with light cream, and it still tasted good, but the sauce didn't stick to the noodles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
A very tasty recipe! This dish tastes like you worked for hours, but it only takes minutes. A big hit at our last party. We served the pasta with lettuce salad, steak, and garlic bread and EVERYONE asked for more! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mc Cook, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kenesaw, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is very good. The sauce is lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I used the previous review tips and it came out absolutely delicious. I doubled the sauce recipe, used chicken stock instead of wine, added a touch of cornstarch mixture to thicken, and added more garlic. My grocery store did not have a good selection of shiitake mushrooms, so I used baby portabella mushrooms instead and it turned out great. I also added sauteed chicken. My family loved it! It tasted really close to a local resturant's favorite Chicken Rigatoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This has become one of our favorites. I change the recipe just a bit:.....I use red cooking wine when cooking the onions, garlic and mushrooms.....I sometimes add finely sliced leeks.....I only use vegetable broth and more broth than is called for as I always find the pasta absorbs so much liquid that it could become dry.....at the end of cooking I'll add pine nuts and then once the sauce is poured over the cooked pasta I'll put a generous portion of shaved Asiago cheese on top. Even my 9 year old likes this recipe. I'll make this one without fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States