Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was quick and very good I served it made with multi-grain pasta, cresent rolls & a garden salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nails2tails

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe fairly closely except I added chicken and shrimp. It tasted bland, so I added basil and Italian seasonings to give some flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I also used half and half instead of heavy cream since this was a weekday meal and not a "splurge" :o) I agree with Starlet, mine sort of curdled and looked fairly unappetizing! Not sure what happened, but I followed the recipe other than using half and half and adding grilled chicken to make it a more balanced meal. This had a pretty good flavor, but seems to need *something* that I couldn't figure out. I definitely recommend extra garlic and you MUST double the sauce or use less noodles!! I might try this again sometime if shiitake mushrooms ever go on sale again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent! The sauce was absolutely delicious. The only changes I made were to omit the onions and use half-and-half instead of heavy cream. I'll make this again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was just ok for me... Wanted to make it a main dish meal so I did add broccoli to the first part and shrimp at the very end, but those were actually the best parts. I don't know what I did wrong, but the sauce got kinda curdley and separated looking...? Once I mixed it all together it didn't look half bad, and the flavor was pretty good... BF liked it better than I did. Probably won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is a very tasty recipe, although to make it work for us, I had to double the sauce ingredients. I sautéed the mushrooms a bit with the onion and garlic before adding the wine and broth. I noticed as I was cooking that although the ingredient list called for chicken broth the instructions cited stock; broth worked fine here. I served the sauce on whole wheat udon noodles since that is what I had, but I do believe that angel hair would have been a better choice. Adding additional liquid makes this a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Yum! I used skim milk instead of cream because that's all I had (I know, I know). If I were serving this for company, I would use the cream. For myself, I would just skip it altogether. Instead of using fresh shiitake, I rehydrated some and added the water into the sauce. I also tossed in some store-bought grilled chicken breast for filler. I don't even like seafood, but for some reason I feel this would be really great with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Delicious! I used half and half instead of cream, cremini instead of shiitake, and also threw in some peas. Next time I will use all wine and no broth because I think the wine adds so much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very filling and rich! I made this with the "Parmesan Chicken" recipe from this site. The only changes I made were adding a little butter to saute and also melting about 1/2 cup of fresh grated Parmesan cheese to the sauce after it was done. Next time I will omit the chicken broth and double the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christy3232
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! I used baby bellas instead of the shitakes. Also doubled the sauce ingredients, except subbed chicken broth for the wine, and used half & half for the cream. It took a while for the saucxxe to reduce - probably 20-30 minutes, but it turned out awesome!! Can't wait to make again! thanks for a simple and tasty recipe that can be used as either a hearty side or a main dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States