Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
WOW. really, really amazing flavor. I wanted to make a filling meal, so I roughly sliced/chopped up two boneless skinless chicken breasts and marinaded them in 3 Tb tomato sauce, 3 Tb soy sauce, 1 Tb peanut oil, a dash of cumin and a crushed clove of garlic (a big one). I let that set for an hour before I started with the mushroom sauce. After the aroma on the mushrooms began to develop and I tossed in the wine/broth, I also threw in the chicken (minus most of the marinade). Keep at medium heat as broth reduces and the chicken will cook through. Add the cream (I used 1/4c.milk, 1/4c. cream), and reduce to low-med as it reduces. It should finish around the same time as the pasta. You want to be careful not to over-cook the mushroom/chicken, because if it reduces too much you won't have enough sauce for the pasta. The recipe is brilliant. You don't need the cheese or parsely, really. I added some, but I thought it was flavorful and complex enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
This was an excellent pasta recipe. I used all chicken broth instead of wine, and it turned out great. Plus, I added some sliced chicken on top and thickened it to taste with some cornstarch/water. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
3.5--Has potential and turns out well with some alterations (a 4.5), but as it is written, this recipe is only a 3. Tips: -You need a lot of salt and pepper to taste. -As the other reviews say, double up on the liquid, but follow what the recipe says about the solids. -The brand of chicken stock really affects the flavor. If you don't have good stock, just use all white wine. I actually thought it tasted better to forego the stock. -Leave out the stalks and just use mushroom heads; the former is too chewy. -The dish might do well with some spinach (for color) and chicken (for protein). Make it, and improve on it! It's got great potential as a base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
No tips from me. No criticisms. No deviations or additions. The only helpful hint I could suggest would be to prepare this recipe exactly as Ann, the submitter, wrote it. I used an exotic mushroom mix which included shiitakes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe, just eyeballing the ingredients. Nice blend of flavors; an attractive and delicious pasta I served as a side dish. This was sheer comfort food for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe! It was very simple, most of the ingredients are very affordable, and it was very tasty and healthy. I like garlic, so I used 4 cloves instead of 1. Everything else I followed exactly, and it came out fabulous! Next time I plan to improve it by basically by increasing the ratio of the ingredients compared to the amount of pasta because I think it could use less pasta and more mushrooms, sauce, etc... and of course more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is amazing and really easy. I used evaporated milk instead of cream for a light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
AWESOME! I doubled the sauce and made about 10 oz of linguini and thought it was a perfect ratio. After adding the wine and broth, it took about 10 mins to reduce... and then after adding the cream it took about 10-12 mins to thicken. Served with grilled chicken and asparagus (simply brushed with olive oil and kosher salt and broiled for 4 minutes... so good). With a sprinking of fresh parmesan and parsley, it looked amazing and I was thrilled that it tasted as good as it looked! Thank you, Ann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
i love mushrooms so i had high hopes for this recipe. i didn't have any wine on hand, so i used cooking sherry and it turned out great! used veggie stock (to make it completely vegetarian), added 3 cloves of garlic and some salt. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
The shiitake gives the sauce such nice flavors. I used whole milk to cut down some fat and the sauce was still creamy enough but not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This is an elegant and tasty dish that appears as if u have slaved in the kitchen for hours on end! the sauce is yumm becasue it tastes of alfredo but without the heavyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States