Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This has become one of our favorites. I change the recipe just a bit:.....I use red cooking wine when cooking the onions, garlic and mushrooms.....I sometimes add finely sliced leeks.....I only use vegetable broth and more broth than is called for as I always find the pasta absorbs so much liquid that it could become dry.....at the end of cooking I'll add pine nuts and then once the sauce is poured over the cooked pasta I'll put a generous portion of shaved Asiago cheese on top. Even my 9 year old likes this recipe. I'll make this one without fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Found this recipe to be a bit on the bland side. I would definitely recommend doubling or tripling the amount of garlic, wine and mushroom. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Pretty good... the sauce takes a few mins to thicken... i recommend taking it off the heat and letting stand for 2 mins before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
We tried this last evening and found it just delicous. It was as close as could be to a dish I had in Rome and just loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I have made this on various occasions and like it more and more every time. It is an easy and likable recipe. I really enjoy mushrooms so I like this dish a lot. The only thing is I wish that it was more saucy, but it is still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Make sure you follow the suggestions to double the sauce. I made 16oz of pasta, and quadrupled the amount of sauce, and the pasta was still rather dry. Otherwise, the flavor was good, but kind of bland. I added shrimp, which I think helped, but next time I make this I think I'll add more salt and garlic, and perhaps some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was pretty fast, and had a nice taste. I did use button mushrooms, as I didn't have shitake. Next time I am going to add some fresh diced tomatoes at the end, and add in some cubed chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Thank you for a delicious recipe! This was quick and easy. I didn't have any chicken stock at home so I just left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Shiitake is the most commonly used mushroom in Japan. Never expected the marriage of Shiitake and cream would be so good. Thanks for the nice recipe. I will make this again soon. Oh, by the way, I used sake instead of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States