Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
3.5--Has potential and turns out well with some alterations (a 4.5), but as it is written, this recipe is only a 3. Tips: -You need a lot of salt and pepper to taste. -As the other reviews say, double up on the liquid, but follow what the recipe says about the solids. -The brand of chicken stock really affects the flavor. If you don't have good stock, just use all white wine. I actually thought it tasted better to forego the stock. -Leave out the stalks and just use mushroom heads; the former is too chewy. -The dish might do well with some spinach (for color) and chicken (for protein). Make it, and improve on it! It's got great potential as a base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious meal. Easy and quick to make. The 6 oz. of pasta called for in the recipe was not enough so I increased it and used the entire 1# box. Subsequently, I more than doubled the sauce. If adding all the sauce to the cooked pasta, the pasta will absorb the sauce. You might want to spoon the sauce over the pasta in the individual serving dishes so that the creaminess of the dish is preserved. We really loved this meal. The mushrooms and Parmesan provided a nice woody, nutty taste. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Here's_What's_Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loved this pasta dish! I know it's a good one when my two picky eaters love it. I substituted fat-free evaporated milk in place of the cream and it was wonderful and still full of flavor while maintaining a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Great dish, hearty and luscious, just superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe loosely and it turned out delicious! I used one 8 oz pck of white sliced mushrooms (couldn't find good looking Shiitakes at the market), used appx 12 oz pasta, 4 cloves garlic, no wine and one 14 oz can of broth. I added the cream without measuring, using almost 1 cup altogether. The end result was absolutely delicious ... one thing is that my sauce was a bit loose, but as it cooled it thickened so I'm glad I didn't cook it thicker cause then it might have been too thick. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was the best pasta I've made in a long time! So easy and so good! I would recommend doubling the sauce as other reviewers have suggested. I also added a little more garlic. My boyfriend wants it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
4 1/2 This was very good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Five stars! This is restaurant fare! I followed the recipe, except for using button and oyster mushrooms for the shiitake :( Ok, and I added a generous dash of thyme. *Slivered FRESH SPINACH* was also an awesome addition that added subtle flavor and lovely contrast... just stir in until wilted, about 2-3 minutes. Next time I will add thinly sliced chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is delicious. I served it as a side dish, and my fiance loved it! I couldn't find shiitake mushrooms so I used sliced portabellas instead. I also doubled the sauce because it really doesn't make very much if you follow the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Tasty. This does NOT serve 4 as a main dish. It actually only served ME for dinner. I used all veggie broth, no wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States