Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I could not wait to try this recipe and was slightly discouraged when my supermarket did not carry shitakes! I substituted portabellas other than that followed recipe exactly. Can't wait to try shitakes for a more woodsy and earthy taste! Ate with AR's Flat-iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
No tips from me. No criticisms. No deviations or additions. The only helpful hint I could suggest would be to prepare this recipe exactly as Ann, the submitter, wrote it. I used an exotic mushroom mix which included shiitakes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe, just eyeballing the ingredients. Nice blend of flavors; an attractive and delicious pasta I served as a side dish. This was sheer comfort food for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i followed another reviewers advise and used vegetable broth and cooking sherry. i also added grilled shrimp. very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was quick and very good I served it made with multi-grain pasta, cresent rolls & a garden salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe fairly closely except I added chicken and shrimp. It tasted bland, so I added basil and Italian seasonings to give some flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I also used half and half instead of heavy cream since this was a weekday meal and not a "splurge" :o) I agree with Starlet, mine sort of curdled and looked fairly unappetizing! Not sure what happened, but I followed the recipe other than using half and half and adding grilled chicken to make it a more balanced meal. This had a pretty good flavor, but seems to need *something* that I couldn't figure out. I definitely recommend extra garlic and you MUST double the sauce or use less noodles!! I might try this again sometime if shiitake mushrooms ever go on sale again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent! The sauce was absolutely delicious. The only changes I made were to omit the onions and use half-and-half instead of heavy cream. I'll make this again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was just ok for me... Wanted to make it a main dish meal so I did add broccoli to the first part and shrimp at the very end, but those were actually the best parts. I don't know what I did wrong, but the sauce got kinda curdley and separated looking...? Once I mixed it all together it didn't look half bad, and the flavor was pretty good... BF liked it better than I did. Probably won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is a very tasty recipe, although to make it work for us, I had to double the sauce ingredients. I sautéed the mushrooms a bit with the onion and garlic before adding the wine and broth. I noticed as I was cooking that although the ingredient list called for chicken broth the instructions cited stock; broth worked fine here. I served the sauce on whole wheat udon noodles since that is what I had, but I do believe that angel hair would have been a better choice. Adding additional liquid makes this a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Yum! I used skim milk instead of cream because that's all I had (I know, I know). If I were serving this for company, I would use the cream. For myself, I would just skip it altogether. Instead of using fresh shiitake, I rehydrated some and added the water into the sauce. I also tossed in some store-bought grilled chicken breast for filler. I don't even like seafood, but for some reason I feel this would be really great with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States