Shiitake Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was pretty good, there wasn't as much shiitake mushroom flavor in it as I was hoping for. I don't know if I'll use these expensive mushrooms in this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We did this recipe exactly as described in the original recipe except we used Portabello shrooms instead (we could not find the shiitake at our local store). We also used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the cream. I really prefer a full bodied sauce on my pasta and would probably double the sauce the next time we fix it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeeJeepCrawl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very easy to make and totally delicious. This is my type of pasta. Made this with Macadamia crusted Tilapia and went great together. I can't wait to have this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
AWESOME! I doubled the sauce and made about 10 oz of linguini and thought it was a perfect ratio. After adding the wine and broth, it took about 10 mins to reduce... and then after adding the cream it took about 10-12 mins to thicken. Served with grilled chicken and asparagus (simply brushed with olive oil and kosher salt and broiled for 4 minutes... so good). With a sprinking of fresh parmesan and parsley, it looked amazing and I was thrilled that it tasted as good as it looked! Thank you, Ann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
you know what, i didn't hate it but it took alot of adding to get it the way we liked it..needs more flavour, i added some grated parmesan cheese to the sauce ..i'll try it again but play with it a little more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
An excellent recipe. The mushrooms soak up all the yumminess from the chicken stock and white wine and go perfectly with the creaminess of the sauce. This is a nice side dish for a change from the usual potatoes or rice. It is also a nice meatless main dish and is even good with plain white mushrooms if that is what's in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wow, this was great! I used Cremini mushrooms, since I didn't want to spend the money on Shiitake's. I also added a pound of steamed snow crab to the dish (because it was on sale). I used double the wine and broth and served it over egg noodles instead of angel hair. Used an entire 16 oz carton of whipping cream and a lot more parmesan added right to the sauce. Rich and fantastic! As good as any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I could not wait to try this recipe and was slightly discouraged when my supermarket did not carry shitakes! I substituted portabellas other than that followed recipe exactly. Can't wait to try shitakes for a more woodsy and earthy taste! Ate with AR's Flat-iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
No tips from me. No criticisms. No deviations or additions. The only helpful hint I could suggest would be to prepare this recipe exactly as Ann, the submitter, wrote it. I used an exotic mushroom mix which included shiitakes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe, just eyeballing the ingredients. Nice blend of flavors; an attractive and delicious pasta I served as a side dish. This was sheer comfort food for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i followed another reviewers advise and used vegetable broth and cooking sherry. i also added grilled shrimp. very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States