Shiela's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This makes good soft cookies for cutting out and the icing is not too sweet. I think they have a nice flavor. The lemon is not noticeable which is fine because that wasn't what I was going for. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the dough is delicate and I had to use a flat knife to pick them up off the counter and keep them from falling apart. That worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
these have a great texture. I used butter and butter flavored crisco. I didn't use the lemon juice but would try them in the future using lemon extract. I found this to be a very delicate dough to work with both cutting out and after baking. A few of my snowflake cutouts fell apart once baked and the stars and trees seemed to be sturdier. I used almond and vanilla. Great texture with all kinds of possibilities for flavorings. Nice and soft but again, a bit delicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is absolutely the best sugar cookie recipe I had ever made! I did make a few changes in the recipe. I used real butter and used 3 sticks and only 1/4 cup of shortening. Over the time I have tested cookie recipes I have discovered when you have baking powder in recipe change it to cream of tarter. I am telling you this makes the cookies. Also, if you soften your butter on the counter verses in microwave your cookies are much softer and fluffier! I also used vanilla verses lemon. Will try lemon next time.. I love love love this cookie recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The dough was a little soft to work with, even after refridgeration so i had to add a little extra flour, but other than that it was great. I acutally used half vanilla extract and half almond extract instead of the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I would give this recipe like a 4.8 if I could, if only because I was hoping the lemon flavor would be more prevalent. That said, I took these to a family party over the weekend and had multiple people say they love them and ask for the recipe. Next time I make them (and there will be a next time!), I'm either going to add a little lemon extract or more lemon juice and just aim for the right dough consistency when adding the flour. Great recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katrinp
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is the only sugar cookie recipe i use. I decorate to order and these keep my customers coming back for more. Tender cookie that is not too sweet. I add lemon zest for a "fresher" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe is like the one I had many years ago. I use butter instead of margarine. I have also used almond extract for a change of pace. I never or almost never make shaped cookies so the softness of the dough is not a problem. I do however us an ice cream scoop to place them on the cookie sheet, a flat bottom glass which has been dipped in a sugar and cinnamon mixture to flatten out the cookie to my desired thickness and size. I have refrig my dough between batches to keep the dough from becoming too soft. These cookies could best be described as a butter cookie (not overly sweet without the icing) and an addictive one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The cookies are fine..but the dough took forever!!..and it was so hard to roll...i had to use my hands..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I chose this recipe for 2 reasons. 1) the use of both shortening and butter along with both white and confectioners sugar was intriguing. 2) the name of the recipe was my name too! I REALLY liked these sugar cookies. I made them with vanilla instead of lemon juice because I wasn't looking for a lemon flavor for Christmas cookies. They were very yummy, even without icing. Or should I say, especially without icing. I found them to be a dense cookie instead of what folks might call light, which I really liked. They had a good crunch and wonderful flavor. When baked, they held the cookie shape very well. I made the dough early to fit my schedule and put it in the fridge for several hours only because I wasn't ready to cut and cook when I prepared the dough. I found that it took warming the dough by simply playing with it a little bit before I could easily roll it for cutting. I will make these again and again and for no special occasion. Although Santa will be getting them from now on!! I look forward to trying the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This cookie is sooo good, the first time I made this, I made it with 2 other recipes from here and EVERYONE chose this one as the best one. I have been making it ever since and get great reviews from it. It works great in a cookie bouquet, I have even had someone tell me that these were better than the Cookie by design cookies ( I think so too). I haven't tried the frosting recipe though because I already have a special frosting I use but these cookies are to die for. One thing to keep in mind when making these cookies is using the right amount of flour. If you use your flour after you have fluffed it up then it won't be enough, but if you pack it in the cup it will be too much, put just enough into your measuring cup. Thank You so much for these fantastic cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States