Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was excellent. I have several recipes for corn chowder but none with seafood. I changed the servings to 5. I did make my own roux and had no problem. I added more bacon and extra to garnish with extra crab when served. I doubled the brandy. Cut the potato amount in half, it was a large russet. Did not want the potato to be the dominant ingredient. I changed the heavy cream and used half/half. Then added coconut milk for the half/half amount. I made my own Creole seasoning. Cut up large shrimp as I think have more flavor. Also, I added at the end so would not get tough. Fresh crab claw which was not expensive. As I had more than enough chowder for two meals, I measured out the amount for our first dinner, added the seafood only to that portion. I will add the seafood later when we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Mana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Photo by tessa
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was a delicious recipe, I did switch it up and use kielbasa instead of bacon and cream corn instead of fresh. It turned out delicious!! I also simplified and did not use the following: Worcestershire, creole, wine or brandy, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
We made this soup for a "Soup Day" at work, because I was intrigued by it's high ratings. It was everyone's favorite! It fed a lot of people and was one of the best crab and corn chowder's I've ever eaten! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lelas22
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I added sausage and used turkey bacon instead. I also used 2 cups of whole milk and added a half cup of butter to substitute the heavy cream. I did not add the brandy since I did not have any. I also used black pepper instead of white pepper since I like it spicy. Came out fabulous. My teenage son and husband complimented all night about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Best soup I've ever made, rave reviews from everyone. I left out the cayenne for the people who don't like spice and just added Creole seasoning at the end. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Lovely flavor. I reduced the amount of corn and potato, and used half and half and 2% milk. My husband wanted a Bonefish Grill copy and he was very pleased with how similar the flavor profile was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I didn't want to make as large of a batch as this recipe makes so I just used lessor amounts of everything but didn't really measure things out so I'm sure the ratios are off a bit, but Otherwise followed the recipe as is minus the brandy. This is a great recipe and didn't leave me feeling as if something was missing. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Excellent soup! My family loved it. I made sure to buy good quality shrimp and crabmeat. I made a double batch and found it to be on the thicker side so just needed some extra chicken stock...and wine. I'd be careful to not overdo the heat, followed recipe closely and it had a nice heat to please a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Halved this recipe and it still made plenty! Changes I made... Didn't have any shrimp so doubled up the crab and subbed old bay for creole seasoning. Didn't add green pepper cause I don't like it. Used all half and half bc I didn't have heavy cream. Next time I'll use way less white pepper, maybe even cut it out all together. I don't really care for it and the kids thought it was way too peppery! Overall very very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is one of my very favorite recipes in summer when crabbing is plentiful. I have never been disappointed. I pretty much follow the recipe but add a little more crab and extra bacon for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States