Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
best chowder EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haikelci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
WOW! What a great soup! After making this soup, I joined allrecipes.com just so I could thank Sheryl for sharing this delicious recipe. I rarely measure spices but know I uused extra of everything except the cayenne pepper. I did not have fresh corn but 2 cans, drained, of a high quality canned corn worked fine. This is a keeper and I will be making this soup again and again. Thank you, Sheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
OMG! This is terrific! Made it exactly as it is written. Recipe is easy to follow. It is a bit time consuming, but well, well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellent fine dining quality soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So good. My whole family loved it. I used fat free half and half (I know I know) but with this recipe it works! From the East coast and this just reminded me of home....thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My husband and I loved this ... however I did use a little more of all the seasonings. I didn't use the Brandy because we didn't have it on hand. Instead of Creole I used lots of Old Bay seasoning. And I also used a red pepper instead of green ... looks better and I love red peppers. We also didn't use the shrimp. Loved it and will be making many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Wow, definitely a keeper!! I love spicy food but for some reason cayenne pepper kicks my mouth in overdrive so I will cut back on it next time. Otherwise perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacitygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
According to my husband this is one of my best soup recipes and he doesn't like seafood chowder! He said he wants this as the first course on Christmas Day...Didn't add the heavy cream as I was trying to cut some of the calories but this is a definate keeper recipe. Thank you Sheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Everyone loved this! I used fresh crab legs. I bought 3 lbs. of regular sized crab legs and only needed to shell a little more than half, so I would say buying 2 lbs of crab legs will definitely yield enough crab for the recipe. I boiled the legs for 3 minutes in salted water and used heavy duty kitchen shears to get the crab meat out. I used regular sized frozen, cooked shrimp and cut them into little pieces after thawing them and removing the tails. because they were pre-cooked I added them to the simmering soup just long enough to warm them. The price of fresh corn was too high this time of year so I used frozen white corn. Those were the only changes I made and it was delish on our first snowy day. My husband said it was even better the second day (he called home from work on the second day to tell me to make sure the kids left some for him!) so next time I might make even more than 10 servings. I served it with home made Russian black bread and Sam Adam's Boston Lager on the side. Sfarrish...this recipe rocks! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Wow! Better than any restaurant chowder I've had. I was a little intimidated by the recipe, but it was written so well that it was very easy to follow. Would also be great with smoked salmon. Awesome - I will continue making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States