Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe for everything but the sherry and chicken broth and used 1/4 tsp Cajun seasoning instead of cayenne/Creole. I substituted milk for the chicken broth since I was out and it was perfect. So glad that this made left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy thought I was at a five star resturaunt! This is a great Chowder I added shrimp and scallops to make it more hearty! my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It's Christmas Eve and our family has just enjoyed the Perfect Corn and Crab Chowder followed by Secret Santa...I wouldn't change a thing....thanks for sharing....Merry Christmas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My husband is a Captain for the F/V Baranof out of Dutch Harbor Alaska so we always have King Crab at home. I made this recipe tonight and will be serving it tomorrow for some friends. Before I put it away I tried a bite and it was delicious. The only change I made was green peppers for red and added Crown Royal instead of Brandy and used Old Bay instead of Creole seasonings but only beacause that was what I had on hand.Obviously I used King Crab instead of lump but who wouldn't!! LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1grtchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful chowder! I was a little intimidated by the number of ingredients but it turned out great. Definitely company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe! There is a little local eatery here on the Outer Banks that has the best corn and crab chowder that we've ever eaten. This recipe may be better! If you want to carry it to the next level, add sea scallops and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Normally I try to stay true to the original person’s recipe unless the masses have agreed to some changes but I had to re-work this recipe for 3 reasons. #1. Everybody who is eating my chowder agreed that the Bonefish grill was WAY too spicey (in ALL their dishes, not just the chowder). I’m a spice light-weight, and my wife is a total spice wuss so I just couldn’t make it as-is based on the other reviews. #2. I don’t have the alcohol required in my house (I’m more of a Jim Beam kinda guy) and it’s Sunday in PA and I can’t buy it. I don’t think I’ll bother next time either since it doesn’t call for much so I would be wasting it. #3. Corn is now out of season and the only small shrimp I liked at the market was cooked/pieces so I went for it – and crab around here sucks right now. So here is the Spice Wuss/Alcohol Free/Out of Season Variation: I replaced the cayenne with double the amount of Old Bay and dropped Creole seasoning completely. I replaced the white wine with pure motts apple juice and the brandy with apple cider vinegar. I used a 1 lb bag of frozen white corn/yellow corn mix partly thawed in the fridge. Since my shrimp was cooked I left it out until the potatoes were cooked then tossed them in and let it come back up to a simmer then added the crab meat (which was canned chicken of the sea premium crab meat..all real crab). I then left the whole thing on the stove on warm until dinner time (about an hour) so by then everything was a perfect temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Simply delicious! I made this and everybody couldnt quit raving about how good it was I agree with other reviewers that the prep time is alot longer than 35 mins but in my opinion its worth it!! This chowder will not disappoint u!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emerilett16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Prep time is way more than 35 minutes, however well worth it. This recipe filled a large crockpot. I made the soup and let it cook on low all day in the crockpot. After letting it sit in the fridge all night, I let it cook one more day on low until we enjoyed it that evening. I think soups are much better after they have had time to marinate. Instead of small size shrimp, I used petite shrimp for salad or shrimp salad. This soup is delicious and definately worth making. I am from Maryland and love cream of crab soup. This is a lot more than just corn and crab soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Best Chowder recipe I've tried so far. You won't be disappointed. Stuck to the recipe except for reduced servings to 6 and it made about 5 good servings for our family. Used cooked shrimp, just added them at the end to warm them through, and I didn't have any crab. I will be making this again with crabmeat someday. My husband wants me to make this "at least 4 times a year" and my 19 month old couldn't get enough of it. I didn't giver her any shrimp yet though. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States