Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This chowder is awesome! I think the recipe yields more than 10 servings but who's complaining. I made it exactly as written with the exception of eliminating the shrimp and instead adding 1 lb. of frozen scallops (wasn't into peeling shrimp today). Better than restaurant quality. Next time I may add a can of diced tomatoes. Hope I don't screw up a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fyurguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I forgot to review the first time. This is my second time making. Wonderful, rich and creamy chowder. THE BEST! The only thing I did different was to add a little clam juice (about a cup) in place of the same amount of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe...I did change a few things for my liking. I used better the bouillon lobster base instead of the chicken stock, did not add the white pepper...the cayenne pepper gives this soup enough heat. I didn't have any crab so I doubled the shrimp. It was terrific!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Oh my goodness..this soup was very very good..I'm still full this morning. My boyfriend was craving corn chowder and I'm so glad I settled on this recipe.. It was time consuming, but well worth it. I used cream, but then substituted milk for the half & half - it was creamy, luscious and we both agreed it was definitely restaurant quality! Thanks Sheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Awesome! Used salad shrimp and added with the crab. A meal with frech bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm going to make this for a ladies get together. I'd like to make it the day before, let it marinate and reheat. Can anyone tell me how it holds up the next day. I just want to make sure it doesn't separate or look funky. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was one of the best corn chowders I have ever eaten. It may seem like a lot of ingredients, but it is worth it. I omitted the flour, and the soup still thickened nicely. It even freezes well, except the shrimp become a bit mushy after reheating. As I write this, I am eating the soup that has been frozen 3 months, and it still tastes fresh and full of flavor. Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This soup is amazing! Even better than Bonefish's. I cut out quite a bit of the fat and it still held up really well and stayed creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was great. But very very time consuming!!! And sooooo many ingredients. I followed everything to the T. Except I used the advice of another member and instead of the butter I used Evaporated Milk to cut back on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
WOW!!!!! This is definitely no ordinary recipe. Best chowder I've ever had.......actually.....one of the best things I've ever eaten! I did not have brandy so I substituted it with a little extra white wine. I also doubled the creole seasoning- I like things spicy. Absolutely AMAZING. However, there was a TON leftover after my husband, three kids, and I ate. Next time I make this it will be for a bigger group of people. Thanks for sharing this! I will definitely be coming back to this recipe again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States