Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
If you are looking for a thick, chunky chowder-like soup, this is not it. This is a very thin soup and is not that great for the time and money put into it. Bland and tastes like fattening half-and-half. Sorry! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
THE VERY BEST!!!! I have made this several times for family and friends and EVERYBODY loves it!! It freezes well!! When you make it..double it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent and easy directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have never given a review...But after cooking this soup I had to share thatit was by far the best chowder I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for my family last night and it was a disappointment. Sorry, but it really ended up tasting like straight cream with a little spice. My husband and I went back to double-check we added everything and we did. The crab wasn't cheap and it took a lot longer to make than expected. We ended up pouring it down the drain. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
So... this recipe isn't cheap to make if you follow exactly and the prep time is way off (takes twice as long). I'm sorry but I really wanted to rate this well based on the previous reviews. I have been to Anthony's and Duke's (fine seafood restaurants) and they have had a corn, crab and bourbon bisque that is to die for and is very similar to each other. I have been searching and thought this recipe was similar. I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it ended up VERY bland. I didn't want to waste so much money with the crab, shrimp, etc. that I ended up going back to the store just to liven it up. I added more shrimp, creole, brandy, wine and even after all that, it still seemed bland that I put in a tablespoon of vanilla. After all that, it only tasted fair. I'm sorry but this is not worth the time and money (at least for me). :( I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Amazing. Followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the brandy - didn't have any and didn't want to buy a whole bottle just for 1 teaspoon. Makes enough to feed a crowd, though, so you might want to add cream just to the portion you're going to use that day, and freeze the rest of the base (adding cream when you reheat it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and the whole family loved it. I'd like to eat it every week, but it has to be a once a year calorie splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This chowder is awesome! I think the recipe yields more than 10 servings but who's complaining. I made it exactly as written with the exception of eliminating the shrimp and instead adding 1 lb. of frozen scallops (wasn't into peeling shrimp today). Better than restaurant quality. Next time I may add a can of diced tomatoes. Hope I don't screw up a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fyurguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I forgot to review the first time. This is my second time making. Wonderful, rich and creamy chowder. THE BEST! The only thing I did different was to add a little clam juice (about a cup) in place of the same amount of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States