Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Absolutely the best chowder recipe I have ever tried!! Not cheap to make, prep time is long but well worth it. I substite frozen corn for fresh and it is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
The flavors of this soup were good, but the directions for the roux do not produce the right kind of thickener. I put the heat on medium-low, melted a stick of butter and added 1/2 cup of flour, stirred constantly for ten minutes, and what I had at the end of it was not "peanut-butter" consistency. It was runny and just looked like thick melted butter. So my soup was very runny and I had to resort to adding instant potato flakes to thicken it. Once I fixed the thickening problem, I added more creole seasoning and salt than the recipe called for because it was just a little bit bland. At that point, the soup tasted very good and was sort of thick. But what ruined the whole thing for me was when I added the lump crab at the very end. I used the kind you get in the seafood section that is refrigerated and comes in a plastic cup. It said it had an expiration date of nearly six months away. But after I dumped it into the soup, the whole thing took on this inedible fishy taste. I don't know what went wrong with that crab, but I suggest tasting your lump crab on its own before you ruin the soup by adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
A little time consuming, but very delicious! My family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Soooooo good. I used tapioca flour to make the rue since I am gluten free and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is one of the best recipes that I have ever made!!! My family loved it and constantly asks me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My husband and I made this last weekend and it was great! We used frozen, left-over seafood - cooked crab and shrimp. We didn't shop to make this - we used what we had on hand and made some adjustments to accommodate our groceries. The recipe still held up strong in spite of the substitutions I made and we thoroughly enjoyed making it and eating it. This is a family-sized recipe. We'll likely half the recipe the next time we make it. If you're craving Cream of Crab or Clam Chowder, give this a try - you won't regret it. It is a wonderful dish and we loved eating it with just saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NellieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
An awesome Crab Chowder. I have Made this for parties in the past and it is always a big hit. I aways add a bit of old bay at the end, according to taste. Also don't bother using super lump crab meat for this, the claw or regular lump is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I have never wrote a review for any recipe. I am so proud of this Great recipe, flavors are all over the place! I changed very little: I did not have white wine, I used frozen corn, the crab meat I used was left overs from New Years Eve so I boiled the shells and paws with some fresh vegatables to make a broth to subsitute the Chicken Broth. This is in my top 10 box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe, very flavorful. However, the next time I make this, I will reduce the amount of thyme by half. My dried thyme was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Awesome. Go no further. I gained two pounds just tasting it, but is was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States