Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Halved this recipe and it still made plenty! Changes I made... Didn't have any shrimp so doubled up the crab and subbed old bay for creole seasoning. Didn't add green pepper cause I don't like it. Used all half and half bc I didn't have heavy cream. Next time I'll use way less white pepper, maybe even cut it out all together. I don't really care for it and the kids thought it was way too peppery! Overall very very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is one of my very favorite recipes in summer when crabbing is plentiful. I have never been disappointed. I pretty much follow the recipe but add a little more crab and extra bacon for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Hello all... I am so happy that so many people like/love the recipe! Me and my family love it. This was the first time I ever put a recipe here, so there might have been a few mishaps with prep time... sorry for that, I an a newbie to this. You can easily substitute any of the seafood in this recipe to fit your taste, I see that alot of people have done that already. Once again, I'm glad you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sfarrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent. I reduced the fat and calories by using all half and half and omitting the heavy cream and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adoralhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe is excellent! Just the right amount of heat with the creole seasoning and excellent flavor. You can definitely use frozen corn if fresh is out of season or for ease of preparation. This has become a family favorite and a request from my extended family members. The prep time is long and the recipe is expensive, but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This chowder is amazing. Very rich but out of this world flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
DON'T LOOK ANY FURTHER FOR A CHOWDER RECIPE! RESTAURANT QUALITY!!! This recipe is EXCELLENT! The recipe fills a crock pot. It freezes very well too. LOVE this recipe. I had been looking for years for this taste in a chowder. I also used it for our "game dinner" and used walleye instead of crab. Just as wonderful. The base for the chowder is so good, you can use any kind of fish or seafood. I get compliments galore when I make this chowder. It's a special occasion recipe - it's that good. I just can't say enough about it - ya' gotta try it! Oh yeah.. I used whiskey instead of brandy and didn't use clarified butter. Just regular butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
You must have patience!! I made mine with 1 cup half/half and 3 cups whole milk and it still came out thick and yummy! Of course not as thick as with cream, but also not as fattening. It takes a while to properly cook that much roux and a long time to thicken that much soup in one pot. Well worth the time spent. Delicious! Save yourself some time and don't peel the potatoes. There's no reason for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Boiling the crab shells, pickings, etc. in the chicken broth adds a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
May just be better than BFG even my son who claims to hate seafood couldn't get enough.Didn't really change anything except used less shrimp and chopped it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States