Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is one of my very favorite recipes in summer when crabbing is plentiful. I have never been disappointed. I pretty much follow the recipe but add a little more crab and extra bacon for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Hello all... I am so happy that so many people like/love the recipe! Me and my family love it. This was the first time I ever put a recipe here, so there might have been a few mishaps with prep time... sorry for that, I an a newbie to this. You can easily substitute any of the seafood in this recipe to fit your taste, I see that alot of people have done that already. Once again, I'm glad you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sfarrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent. I reduced the fat and calories by using all half and half and omitting the heavy cream and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adoralhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe is excellent! Just the right amount of heat with the creole seasoning and excellent flavor. You can definitely use frozen corn if fresh is out of season or for ease of preparation. This has become a family favorite and a request from my extended family members. The prep time is long and the recipe is expensive, but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This chowder is amazing. Very rich but out of this world flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
DON'T LOOK ANY FURTHER FOR A CHOWDER RECIPE! RESTAURANT QUALITY!!! This recipe is EXCELLENT! The recipe fills a crock pot. It freezes very well too. LOVE this recipe. I had been looking for years for this taste in a chowder. I also used it for our "game dinner" and used walleye instead of crab. Just as wonderful. The base for the chowder is so good, you can use any kind of fish or seafood. I get compliments galore when I make this chowder. It's a special occasion recipe - it's that good. I just can't say enough about it - ya' gotta try it! Oh yeah.. I used whiskey instead of brandy and didn't use clarified butter. Just regular butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
You must have patience!! I made mine with 1 cup half/half and 3 cups whole milk and it still came out thick and yummy! Of course not as thick as with cream, but also not as fattening. It takes a while to properly cook that much roux and a long time to thicken that much soup in one pot. Well worth the time spent. Delicious! Save yourself some time and don't peel the potatoes. There's no reason for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Boiling the crab shells, pickings, etc. in the chicken broth adds a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
May just be better than BFG even my son who claims to hate seafood couldn't get enough.Didn't really change anything except used less shrimp and chopped it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe! I made just as instructed and I love it! I wouldn't thing! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States