Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Hello all... I am so happy that so many people like/love the recipe! Me and my family love it. This was the first time I ever put a recipe here, so there might have been a few mishaps with prep time... sorry for that, I an a newbie to this. You can easily substitute any of the seafood in this recipe to fit your taste, I see that alot of people have done that already. Once again, I'm glad you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sfarrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent. I reduced the fat and calories by using all half and half and omitting the heavy cream and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adoralhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe is excellent! Just the right amount of heat with the creole seasoning and excellent flavor. You can definitely use frozen corn if fresh is out of season or for ease of preparation. This has become a family favorite and a request from my extended family members. The prep time is long and the recipe is expensive, but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This chowder is amazing. Very rich but out of this world flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
DON'T LOOK ANY FURTHER FOR A CHOWDER RECIPE! RESTAURANT QUALITY!!! This recipe is EXCELLENT! The recipe fills a crock pot. It freezes very well too. LOVE this recipe. I had been looking for years for this taste in a chowder. I also used it for our "game dinner" and used walleye instead of crab. Just as wonderful. The base for the chowder is so good, you can use any kind of fish or seafood. I get compliments galore when I make this chowder. It's a special occasion recipe - it's that good. I just can't say enough about it - ya' gotta try it! Oh yeah.. I used whiskey instead of brandy and didn't use clarified butter. Just regular butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
You must have patience!! I made mine with 1 cup half/half and 3 cups whole milk and it still came out thick and yummy! Of course not as thick as with cream, but also not as fattening. It takes a while to properly cook that much roux and a long time to thicken that much soup in one pot. Well worth the time spent. Delicious! Save yourself some time and don't peel the potatoes. There's no reason for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Boiling the crab shells, pickings, etc. in the chicken broth adds a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
May just be better than BFG even my son who claims to hate seafood couldn't get enough.Didn't really change anything except used less shrimp and chopped it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe! I made just as instructed and I love it! I wouldn't thing! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is fabulous!! Family favorite. I don't understand why people complain about any recipe being bland? It is difficult to write a recipe that suits all tastes, so I use it as a starting point, and modify if I don't care for the end product. I always taste as I go, and add seasoning at the end, if need be. What cook makes something and doesnt do a final taste test, especially with a soup? Also, this recipe doesnt need to be super expense. The first time I went all out with fresh, super-expensive ingredients. The last 5 times I've made this I used tiny frozen shrimp, frozen corn and canned crab and it is still to die for. Use your heads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States