Sheryl's Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I wanted to write a review after reading the previous reviewer's rating. I have been making a similar recipe to this for years (you can use whatever seasonings you like) and I leave the skin on. If you are having trouble making the cuts (and it is hard to do), simply hold a wooden spoon handle on the cutting board, next to the potato. (The spoon handle should be on the cutting board on the side closest to you, with the potato laying lengthwise on the other side of the spoon handle, touching it). As you slice through with your knife, the wooden spoon handle will keep you from cutting too deeply and you will get nice, even cuts. The potato fans out a little with some help, but not a lot. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
this is a great recipe. Try stuffing the slots with onion and raw garlic. It comes out beautifully. I found, also, that wrapping the potatos in aluminum foil for the first half of the cooking time helps to keep the inside moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe...To the viewrs who had diffiuculty cutting or fanning, You probably didn't have a big enough potato...Try the baking potatos that you buy seperate or else use the bigger ones in the back than the small..The fanning also happenes more when being cooked so where she said "slight" fanning, that's the reason. I sometime put sliced garlic,in between, spice to mood and brush with EVOO and then sprikle grated cheese or shredded cheese at the end... Delish...Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I thought they were quite good! I put two wooden spoons along the sides of the potatoes, so it was very easy to slice evenly and without going all the way thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I thought these were great, but cooked mine a little different. An easy way to slice the potato without cutting all the way down is to put a metal skewer (such as you use for shish kabob) the long way through the potato about 1/4 inch up from the bottom, then when you slice down your knife hits the skewer and it stops it. This works great for blooming onions, too. It is almost impossible to fan the potato out, so after cutting it, I cooked it halfway, then took it out, proceeded with the recipe using my own herb blend of rosemary, oregano, and basil, but finished it on the grill wrapped in foil - YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is a great change from the regular baked potato. I cut the recipe in half and used butter and a bit of olive oil mixed together. You can use whatever blend of seasonings you like. I used a mix of italian seasonings and opted for all parmesan. They bake up nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was fast and delicious! I was worried that I would cut the potatos all the way through so I taped down 2 wooden skewers (chop sticks would work) to my cutting board and cut the potato in between them. This way I did not have to worry about cutting the potatos all of the way through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
We thought these were great as written. Slightly crispy peels and tender seasoned potato with great presentation. Next time, I will change my seasoning blend I used (McCormick Salt-Free Herb & Garlic), though. It was too garlicy (no fault of the recipe, of course) and we would have preferred not such a strong garlic taste. Timing was spot on for medium-large potatoes (all about the same size). But I agree with the reviewer who used EVOO *AND* butter, as the butter began to burn. I will watch closely if pototoes are on the larger size. Will make these often, trying various seasonings, & with the EVOO AND Butter mix. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I loved this recipe! Another great way to serve a potato and topping ideas could be endless! I had no trouble slicing the potato or fanning it out. It was very good tasting and had great eye appeal. I will be making this for my next formal family dinner. I didn't even cook mine in the oven but in the microwave and it took a lot less time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I was just looking for a faster way to bake a potato, and this worked great! I had no problems cutting the potatoes or fanning them out, though I had rather large potatoes. I used olive oil instead of butter, which worked fine though it did smoke up a bit at first, only used salt, and skipped the cheese step entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States