Sheryl's Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. A simple way to cut the potatoes--I purchased 1/4 inch wooden dowls from Hardware Store, place on each side of potato and voila...does not dull knife like metal skewers. I also use dowls or larger sizes for rolling out shortbread and various pastries , etc. Don't forget to soak sliced potatoes in ice water to fan the potatoes after slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe! I made my own herb blend, of Garlic, coarse salt & pepper, cajun spice, and used parmigana reginana...for last then minutes of cooking! SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Needed a potato recipe that was a bit different. This was very good. Didn't have butter, so I used olive oil. Nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Try serving with plain yogurt for moisture and zing, instead of sourcream. This is helpful and healthy if your spuds got too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am glad I halved the recipe. They smelled amazing while baking. However, the end product was hard and tough in some spots while partially uncooked in others. The brand seasoning was not clear, so I used Mrs. Dash as it fit the description. However, I found it "very peppery!!" It was all I could taste. I did use butter with canola oil and reduced fat cheese. I use both in other recipes no problem though. I would consider a smaller potato and don't put them too close to the heat source in the oven. I would also add the seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I make these potatoes quite often.I use a large spoon to cut through the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made these for dinner tonight. Excellent!! From another reviewer, I put a slice of raw onion & garlic between the slices, which made them open up and fan out. I also wrapped them in foil for half the time and baked without the foil which crisped them up. I also oiled the outside which also helped crisp them up. I will definitely make these again. There are only two of us, but would like to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Instead of butter or oil and adding spices, I used Wishbone or your favorite bottled italian dressing. Very easy and it is so good! You could even add hot sauce for a real departure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is more a question/suggestion than a review. I got the idea from reading complaints and suggestions in other reviews. How about slicing the potato all the way through and then you can baste on your oil/butter and seasonings. Then skewer the potato slices back together and make a little bowl of aluminum foil to set it in while it bakes. Near finish, additional oil and cheese can be added and it is contained in the foil. Just an idea that I think I will try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a very old recipe from the 50's called "Hasselback Potatoes". The way to get the potatoes to fan is to soak them in ice water for a while, then let drain on paper towels. I always peeled them first, since I don't like the taste of skins. Pretty when lightly dusted with Paprika, and finely chopped parlsey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States