Sheryl's Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This recipe sounds pretty good in theory, but I've never had so many problems with such a seemingly simple recipe. It was impossible to cut 1/4" slices, and leave them perfectly attached to a 1/4" at the bottom. I either cut all the way through or over compensated and cut too shallow. When I tried to "fan" the potato, the pieces either broke apart or were too stiff at the bottom to move at all. I finally gave up, added a bunch of garlic salt and olive oil an threw it in the oven hoping for the best. I managed to fan 1/2 of one of the potatoes and it looked pretty, but that's about it. Is there a special tool to do this cutting procedure? I'm a rather good cook, but this recipe stumps me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I wanted to write a review after reading the previous reviewer's rating. I have been making a similar recipe to this for years (you can use whatever seasonings you like) and I leave the skin on. If you are having trouble making the cuts (and it is hard to do), simply hold a wooden spoon handle on the cutting board, next to the potato. (The spoon handle should be on the cutting board on the side closest to you, with the potato laying lengthwise on the other side of the spoon handle, touching it). As you slice through with your knife, the wooden spoon handle will keep you from cutting too deeply and you will get nice, even cuts. The potato fans out a little with some help, but not a lot. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I thought these were great, but cooked mine a little different. An easy way to slice the potato without cutting all the way down is to put a metal skewer (such as you use for shish kabob) the long way through the potato about 1/4 inch up from the bottom, then when you slice down your knife hits the skewer and it stops it. This works great for blooming onions, too. It is almost impossible to fan the potato out, so after cutting it, I cooked it halfway, then took it out, proceeded with the recipe using my own herb blend of rosemary, oregano, and basil, but finished it on the grill wrapped in foil - YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
WAY too much effort for mediocre results. A waste of time. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
No problems with cutting. Rubbed the potatoes with olive oil and sea salt then wrapped in. You can use any kind of seasoning or filling you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I agree with the majority of the reviewers...impossible to cut and fan. I ended up just cutting the potato in slices and layering in baking dish and then proceeding from there with the butter and spices, then bake, and at the end add cheese. Turned out great that way, like a homemade Au Gratin Potato dish sort of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
The potatoes came out really nice. The cutting makes it look special. I had an easy time cutting and fanning, just takes a gentle, patient manipulation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I have to agree with the people that say this is a waste of time and ingredients...out of 6 potatoes 1 actually did fan...the others either didn't or would bust off trying to separate them even a little.And the taste was nothing remotely special.Sorry-the 1 was "pretty" though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
My family loved this! It was quick and easy. The hint to use a wooden spoon was ingenious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WendyE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States