Sherry's Wild West Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've been learning to cook the last couple years. I had the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and needed to find a way to use it. I found this recipe and made it, not expecting much. This is only the second soup I've ever made. WOW! It is so delicious and spicy. Maybe one of the best soups I've tasted. Just got back from grocery so I can make some more. Oh, I didn't know how to make shredded chicken and I used thighs? (dark meat) and cut it in cubes. Later I found out I should have bought breast meat and shredded that. I'll be making it that way next time. Plain monteray jack was kind of hard to find, usually they have it mixed with Colby; finally found it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We liked it, but not as much as Slow Cooker Taco Soup. Here's how I embellished it: Added 1/2 of a green pepper and 1/2 an onion (first sautéed in olive oil to soften) Added a can of black beans Added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes Reduced to one can of green chilis Increased the salt from a pinch to a 1/2 teaspoon Put the rice right in the pot to make easier - reduced amount to 1/2 cup of raw rice, since the recipe called for 1 cup of cooked rice I topped with 2 avocados instead of 1 and just stirred into pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I love spicy food and this is now officially my absolute favorite soup ever. If it sounds appealing definitely try it! I followed one other reviewers recommendation and put in uncooked rice so that it wasn't too mushy, but then I also had to add about 2 more cups of broth to compensate. Definitely worth making, so delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good soup. I omitted the salt because chicken broth has enough salt in it. I added garlic powder and in addition to the white beans, I added a can of black beans to get more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Didn't have the Monterey Jack, but it was really good with just the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was delicious. If you want to cut the spiciness down cut out the seeds in the chipotle pepper, then add them to individual bowls as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very good, easy soup. I sauteed some onions and garlic first and added broth and rest of ingredients to pot. It would be great w/some chopped fresh cilantro. Didn't have this time, will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I enjoyed this soup very much however the broth is VERY spicy. If you do not use the avocado, I highly recommend that you cut back on the chipotle peppers. The avocado mellows the broth out nicely but it still has a great deal of kick to it. The only change I made is that I did not cook the rice first because I wanted it more firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made a big batch for freezing. Like one of the other reviewers, I also substituted quinoa for white rice, added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and left out the chicken and the cheese. The avocado was a nice touch. Next time I might throw in some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was a little spicy for several of the people I served it to, but others raved about it. In the future I will probably try to make it less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States