Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
It's only my husband and myself tomorrow so I'm cooking a 6 1/2 lb breast in the crock pot while we're at the football game (GOOO LIONS!!) Do you think this would work if I put everything under the breast since I can't stuff it? And do you think I should add some water at the start of cooking? HELP please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Roggin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My mother in law taught me this method of roasting a turkey 35 years ago and I have never deviated. I do not although put it in a bag. Funny thing the bacon never makes it to the table. My husband is the happy picker as he carves the bird. My first turkey 40+ years ago came out like shredded wheat! So I guess I have learned a thing or two. hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Just wanted to add a little trivia, that draping a piece of meat with bacon or salt pork before roasting is a very old technique called "barding". Sounds delicious. Also wanted to tell user Ppquat that users of this site are allowed to make revisions to a recipe, and still rate it, so how about YOU, stop being rude. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Certainly a nice way of cooking a turkey if you prefer that method. Expect a good amount of fluid in the bag, the fact of the matter is that you are actually steaming the bird rather than dry roasting. And of course it is a matter of taste and my opinion is there is nothing at all like a dry roasted turkey. In addition, the use of a pound of bacon will most certainly result in " bacon flavoured " gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Nowhere did I read 2# of bacon for a 22# turkey. If you choose not to have 1# of bacon on an 18# turkey--either use less or another recipe. If you have not tried the original recipe--mouth shut! Only want your info if you have tried THIS RECIPE. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My first attempt at a turkey ever. Couldn't have been better. Delicious and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is the first turkey I have ever made and I will not be looking for a different recipe. Makes the best bacon-turkey sandwiches! Also, use leftover meat for turkey and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
fabulous, will make again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Photo by Tammy Weatherly
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used this recipe to make my very first turkey and have used it several more times at other family functions - everyone who has had it has been a very big fan. I followed the recipe exactly and used the soul food spice recipe from one of the comments on this page. The only thing I change up is I cut up the fruits and veggies before I stick them in the turkey. It's always come out tender and the meat just falls right off of the bone. Try this recipe, I promise you wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Weatherly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States