Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
the best moist turkey I have ever had. The turkey does taste a lot like bacon, but I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a great recipe. Some other reviewer referred to this technique as barding which I read more about before attempting this recipe. My 27 pound turkey turned out perfect and was photo worthy. I tented the turkey with tin foil instead of putting it in an oven bag. Because barding bastes the bird for you, you don't really need the oven bag. It was the easiest way to cook the bird and have it so unbelievably moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is my first review and I'm only doing it because I am so excited about it. This turkey came out so good... talk about fall off the bone. It really did! The gravy wasn't as flavorful as I was hoping, but I think next time I wouldn't skim ALL the fat off of the drippings! I did have to cut all the fruit and veggies for them to fit in the cavity. But honestly, didn't change a thing. Thanks for making our holiday special with this recipe. I will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Decided to try this recipe for Thanksgiving and was FANTASTIC!!!! We followed the direstions and our turkey was so juicy and tender. Will make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was way too good! So tender it fell off the bone. It didn't take as long to cook as I calculated so we ate earlier than expected. I love the fact there was minimal cleanup after too! Gotta try this one, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Twin Peaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Tried this recipe today minus the bag and it came out great. I will definately be using this recipe for many years to come. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this today minus the bag for the turkey, as I didn't have one. It was amazing. The gravy was so flavorful. The house smelled wonderful!!! The bacon was so crispy. I got lots of compliments on the meal. I think it would have been moister if I had used the bag, but was still yummy!!! Lots of people asking for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was OUTSTANDING! I hate turkey, I only take it because I am obligated to one day a year, I geerally approach the Thanksgiving table focused on the side dishes. However, this recipe changed my life. I discovered I love turkey today as long as I make it this way. It's no wonder why bacon is everyone's best friend. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made the turkey just like the recipe and it was the best turkey I have had in my 35 years of cooking turkeys. It was so so tasty and moist. Thanks. This will be my turkey recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
It's only my husband and myself tomorrow so I'm cooking a 6 1/2 lb breast in the crock pot while we're at the football game (GOOO LIONS!!) Do you think this would work if I put everything under the breast since I can't stuff it? And do you think I should add some water at the start of cooking? HELP please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Roggin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States