Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Okay, so I'm not a great cook, but....Here's my recap of making this turkey. Followed everything except I don't especially care for orange so I used a lemon instead...love lemon. I didn't put the butter under the skin (rubbed with olive oil and seasons) because I thought that would be too much fat. In hindsight I probably should have. But it still turned out to be a nice turkey. The white meat was a little dry...as always (I think I cooked it a little too long), but it was a great turkey. I was concerned by one reviewers remarks that the turkey tasted like bacon (I used one regular pkg from the store for a 13lb turkey)...but, in fact the bacon tasted like turkey!!! I did use a bag. So that's my report, hope it helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this Turkey recipe for Thanksgiving this year. I brine the Turkey for 18 hrs in the Orange Turkey brine recipe from this website, and then smoked the turkey for about 6 hrs in my smoker. The bacon infused a wonderful flavor throughout the turkey. I got a lot of compliments on the turkey. Everyone came back for seconds on the turkey. The only problem was we didn't have very much turkey left over for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggiebychoice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I think the flavor was outstanding, but the use of the cooking bag was difficult. My bacon browned too fast on some of the pieces so I had to cut open the cooking bag to take those piepces off so that they wouldn't burn and give a burnt taste to the whole bird. Then when I went to take it out of the bag it was cumbersome and kept sticking to the bag despite using fancy turkey lifters and 2 sets of hands (me and my hubby). I think next time I will try it without the bag. I will also not use the same amount of bacon unless I have the same size bird as called for in the recipe. I'm one of those people who thinks there's no such thing as too much bacon. But in this case a pound of bacon for a 13# turkey was probably too much, hence the variable cooking times on the different pieces. I slightly layered my bacon to make it all fit. The flavor was good enough to try this one again. And oh man the slightly bacony flavor in the gravy that I made from the drippings! WOW!! I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars b/c it was better than 4 but I just can't give it a 5 b/c of the technical difficulties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Simple recipe, with outstanding results. The turkey was so flavorful and juicy. My husband loved it so much he called his sister and raved all about it. I am happy to say that this recipe is now my favorite. Thanks for sharing Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This turkey came out really good and moist. I stuffed mine and put a couple pieces of the bacon under the skin then layered the rest on top. They best part about this is how easy it is. Only took me about 10 minutes to rinse it, stuff it and get it into the oven. And because it's in a bag you don't have to touch it until its done. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This will be my ONLY way to make a whole turkey from now on! I couldn't believe how moist the turkey was and how tasty my gravy turned out! Thank you, thank you, thank you Sherry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My family loved this. I hate white meat because it is so dry, but the white meat was moist. I even ate some of it. Really very simple recipe. I could not find soul seasoning, so I used Morton's season salt and restaurant style pepper. I also did not use a bag. I put turkey in my big roasting pan and tented with aluminum foil. Some one else did this and I also followed their advice to remove the foil the last 50 minutes of cooking time. The turkey was already browning, but this put a nice color to it. Since my mom is on a low sodium diet, I used one lb. of low sodium bacon, and the salt level was just enough. Family loved turkey this way so will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancysw
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would...we have fried, smoked and had the traditional turkey through the years and this is by far the best turkey I have ever had. My son weaved the bacon with 2 lbs of bacon and it was fabulous..very moist and flavorful! We will make this recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was such a fantastic turkey. Everyone in my family absolutely loved it. It came out so juicy and tender. I didn't have soul food seasoning, so I just used Lawry's seasoning salt and added some garlic powder and onion powder. It turned out great!!! Definitely a keeper. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe! Followed the directions with two exceptions: A) used a roasting pan with a tip, and B) used a butter sage & thyme sauce between the sink and meat. Will be making it again at Xmas. The stuffing was a chestnut sausage, onion, liver, dried cranberry with brown bread with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States