Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Simply Delicious - and the Aroma it filled the house with was to die for !! I used 2 packages of Applewood bacon (created an 18ib "Bird in Bondage") - inserted a rack into the cooking bag first...then the Bird - and in alittle over 4 hrs she was done to perfection...browned all the way around with no greasy bottom...tender, moist and oh so very Tasty !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Sounds great. Hope my hubby will let me make this next yr. He doesn't normally like fruit with meat. To lmh32683, when you have drippings, you need to separate the fat out from the other liquid. There is a fat separater cup, you can buy. I just get a large spoon & skim the top; that is where the fat stays. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CinC
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I didn't use a turkey bag, used thick cut smoked bacon and wove the strips over my 16 lb. bird. Not only was this the prettiest bird I have ever done, it was by far the juiciest and most delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was the best turkey I've ever made! Even my husband, who doesn't like turkey because of it's tendency to be dry, thought this was very moist and he loved it! I followed the recipe nearly exactly, using Lawrey's seasoning salt in place of the soul food seasoning, and instead of putting the turkey in a bag I just put it in my roasting pan and put the lid on it, basting it every 45 minutes. (Before stuffing it, I also pulled the skin on the breast back and rubbed a scant amount of Lawrey's seasoning salt on the meat itself, because my father in law doesn't eat poultry skin so the meat itself needed to be seasoned.) Everything turned out sooo yummy. This will be my go to recipe from here on out. Thank you, thank you, thank you! My only small complaint is that the gravy made from the drippings was VERY fatty, and didn't have the best flavor in my opinion. It wasn't bad, just wasn't as good as the turkey gravy I usually make using a gravy mix. Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorenzod
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This turkey was Da Bomb. It was easy to marinade and all I had to do was place it in a bag and 3.5 hours later, I had a slammin turkey. My guests loved it and now I am going to use the carcass for a throw down soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Seriously the BEST turkey I've ever made and the gravy it made was amazing. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and fresh rosemary, thyme and sage instead of soul food seasoning. My guests were raving about the turkey and begging for the recipe. And it give a whole new meaning to the term "turkey bacon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. The meat was tasty and moist and the drippings made great gravy. This will be my go to turkey recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I was so excited because it was just the 2 of us and I bought a tiny turkey of 11 lbs and thought sure I could handle it. My history with turkey has not been good, to say the least. But, with no company, I was sure it would be different. I followed the instructions with the vege's and fruit. I even found "soulfull" seasoning (which turned out to be very tasty). Everything was going great, turkey should have been done in 3 hours and the sides had been timed accordingly. Well, guess what? My poor history with turkey's continues. I cooked the turkey upside down! The result was that the breast wasn't done, or brown. Had to cook the turkey for another hour and that threw all the sides off. My husband was watching football and didn't help, so I blamed him and that made me feel a little better. However, the end result was a delicious turkey, and if I ever attempt another turkey (which is doubtful), I will definitely use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I cooked this exactly as specified and it was still dry and unremarkable. I will brine mine from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Okay, so I'm not a great cook, but....Here's my recap of making this turkey. Followed everything except I don't especially care for orange so I used a lemon instead...love lemon. I didn't put the butter under the skin (rubbed with olive oil and seasons) because I thought that would be too much fat. In hindsight I probably should have. But it still turned out to be a nice turkey. The white meat was a little dry...as always (I think I cooked it a little too long), but it was a great turkey. I was concerned by one reviewers remarks that the turkey tasted like bacon (I used one regular pkg from the store for a 13lb turkey)...but, in fact the bacon tasted like turkey!!! I did use a bag. So that's my report, hope it helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States