Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This will be the 3rd year I've made the turkey this way. Everyone that tries it loves it. The taste is fantastic and it is so moist. I will never make a turkey another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Clute

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Awesome!!! I found this about four years ago and we make it every year...I even prepare a bird for everyone at work when I work on Turkey Day (we're military-we work all holidays)...I get RAVE reviews every year...I've even started using it on my chicken dinners!!! Try it, you will NOT be disappointed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, as I always do with new recipes. This was, without a doubt, the BEST turkey I've ever cooked. We used a 13 lb. Butterball and adjusted the amounts accordingly. The family raved and the four of us ate this turkey in two days. Succulent, flavorful, and fork tender, tender, tender! Absolutely wonderful. Thank you, Sherry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I used the recipe today, and the turkey turned out wonderful!! I used a brown sugar mixture from grill mates to season the turkey because I did not have soul food seasoning. My entire family loved the turkey and thought having bacon on top was a plus. I read someone's review that the turkey did not brown in the bag. My turkey did brown in the bag and the bacon was crispy. I used Reynolds turkey bags. The turkey was not dry at all and gave a lot of juices to make excellent gravy from. The reason why I did not give all 5 stars, is because the meat was to tender. If that makes sense. Some parts of the turkey fell apart. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
At age 50th I cooked my first turkey, never had the need to cook one before. Because we always spend holidays with family. But, I tried this recipe and it is by far five stars. Moist, tasted great, looked just like the picture. The bacon gave it a smoke taste. One thing I did do different I stuff my turkey with seasonings a month before I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
my hubby love this recipe, will make again. I made my own seasoning useing the reviewer "Cocinera"'s recipe, I also made gravy with her idea of sour cream, flour and pepper. my hubby loved it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe saved our Christmas...what a wonderful bird! We brined our bird first, then followed this recipe. It was moist, tender, savory! My mother-in-law tends to be a bit of a picky eater and she even had seconds. This will be our "turkey recipe" from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This what the first turkey I have ever made. I had received a turkey from my fiance's mother and immediately started looking for recipes. I received this recipe in an email and decided to give it a try. I had an 18 pound bird so this recipe was perfect for it. I found it a little difficult to get the ingredients inside the turkey. After cooking, my fiance did the honors of carving it up. It literally fell off the bone! He said it was the best turkey he ever had---even the breast was fairly moist. The only issue I had was that I will probably cook it half an hour longer next time, and rub the spices under the skin of the breast for even more flavor. Overall, a delicious bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanmeyer28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Interesting recipe, as in the "Soul food" spice rub (with the ingredients as noted by another reviewer) was was well worth making,definitely a keeper for poultry rubs, very complex flavour. I'll be making more of that. I solved the bacon overcooking problem with a simple foil tent sorta idea about 1/2 hour in. The bird and bacon came out nicely browned. That all said, I wouldn't bother making this again, the bacon fat overpowered everything, and really, if you want to taste bacon, don't bother with the stuffing at all, grease/oil will cover citrus and apple flavours every time. The bird was very moist, but I think that's more about the cook in bag technique and the quality of the turkey in the bag than using a bacon wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States